• October 24, 2014, 11:44:17 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos  (Read 3109 times)

steven252000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« on: August 05, 2011, 04:18:14 PM »

I have searched and searched for help with an issue I am having with Yahoo videos not working on my home network wireless connection. It is not a computer issue because my laptop plays the videos fine on different wireless connections just will not play on my home connection. Is there some simple setting somewhere that is causing this issue? All other videos play fine......youtube, CBS news etc. It is only yahoo videos. The commercials even play fine. When the video tries to play it simply gets stuck in the loading screen with the circle thing going around an around or it does this for a few seconds then says video is no longer available. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28189
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 06:56:21 PM »

What HW version is your router?
What FW version is currently loaded?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual?
Turn off QoS options.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

steven252000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2011, 06:39:26 PM »

Sent you a PM Furry......let me know if you don't get it. Thanks.
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1315
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2011, 12:52:56 AM »

Not to ask the obvious, but did someone block Youtube on your network? Did you set this network up?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28189
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2011, 07:41:07 AM »

On the LT that your using, is there any 3rd party firewall or Antivirus programs running? Do you have windows firewall ON? It sounds like everything except yahoo videos is not working, might be a web site issue maybe.

What Windows version are you using?
I would turn off all security programs temporarily and test.
What browser are you using? Try a different one like Opera or FF and see if they exhibit the same results.
Do you have a different PC that you an test on the same network and does it exhibit the same results?
Try directly connected to the ISP modem and see if the PC exhibits the same results.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

steven252000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2011, 10:05:21 AM »

Harry.....I have no issues with youtube just yahoo videos.
Furry......I use windows 7 on my laptop and desktop. The reason I think it is somewhere in my modem or router is because I can take the laptop on my home network and it will not play the videos. I can then take the same laptop and connect to my neighbors wifi connection (shh....unprotected but weak signal...lol) and the same laptop will then play the videos. So.......it would have to be some stupid little something somewhere in my router or modem setup.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28189
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2011, 02:21:27 PM »

How about a Factory reset of the router and don't set up any thing on the router. Just try it unless you need to set up PPPoE DSL information. Let us know.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hard Harry

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1315
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2011, 05:55:03 AM »

Harry.....I have no issues with youtube just yahoo videos.
Furry......I use windows 7 on my laptop and desktop. The reason I think it is somewhere in my modem or router is because I can take the laptop on my home network and it will not play the videos. I can then take the same laptop and connect to my neighbors wifi connection (shh....unprotected but weak signal...lol) and the same laptop will then play the videos. So.......it would have to be some stupid little something somewhere in my router or modem setup.

Oops. Didn't even know Yahoo had videos. ::stiffles a laugh:: ::cough::

Honestly, I can't see only little setting blocking flash video from one particular domain. I can see the router accidently blocking Yahoo (DNS cache) or I can see it blocking the UDP traffic for the streaming flash..but from just one domain? Seems like its on purpose to me. Is it your router? Did you configure it? Also, what does it say when you try to watch the movie? Does it come up with any error?
Logged

steven252000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2011, 06:38:20 PM »

Hell I still can figure this junk out. Frustrating. I am on windows 7. All other videos work just fine ie youtube, cbs, etc. It is just yahoo. The commercials play but when the video goes to load it sits there with the loading thing spinning then says "sorry video no longer available" then it usually locks my computer up for a min or so.  I know it has to be some where in my network connection because I can attempt to connect a laptop to the same connection and it does the same thing. I then can take the same laptop and connect to a different internet connection and it plays the videos just fine. I am the one who "set" my connection up if you can call it that. Basic get everything hooked up and connect. No changes. I have reset my router and changed a few things on my dsl modem. Nothing works. None of my connections as far as computers goes are "hard wired" my desktop and laptops of course are all wireless. I am also connected to my Dish Network on my router for some of the "multimedia" features/on demand. I have had Yahoo as my homepage so long I hate to change just because of the lack of video play back. I know it will end up being some stupid simple little something....Been a good while since I replied here so I may not get anymore replies but if anyone has anything to try please feel free to try. Thanks.
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1315
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2011, 04:01:27 AM »

1. First thing I would do is connect the laptop direct to modem and try then.

2. I do notice Yahoo video categorize using subdomains. Another words Youtube video might be http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blahblahblah  while yahoo video base domain starts at http://video.yahoo.com/ might change to http://comedy.video.yahoo.com/?lid=24038632 or http://animalvideos.yahoo.com/  So it could be a DNS issue.  If it is, but it doesn't happen when direct to modem, I would probably think it's the "advanced DNS" that is doing it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28189
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2011, 07:04:31 AM »

What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

steven252000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2011, 11:51:03 AM »

THanks for reply......I willo try the direct connect wot the modem with my laptop and get back with you. Also I have tried FF, IE, chrome. They all will not let me view the yahoo videos. And again thanks for the help. I know just enough on computers to usually fix things such as this but for what ever reason the has me baffled and not so happy because I can not get it solved.

Also back to a previous suggestion from Furry.....Under setup/internet/manual I have the following:
Dynamic IP (DHCP)
host name = blank
use unicasting= check mark
primary dns = all 0's
secondary = all 0's
MTU = 1500
Mac = all 0's
Are these setting an issue?
« Last Edit: November 11, 2011, 12:10:10 PM by steven252000 »
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1251
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2011, 02:16:20 PM »

try unchecking use unicasting.
Logged

steven252000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2011, 07:08:38 AM »

Dave.....tried unchecking unicasting......did not help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28189
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help Un-Blocking Yahoo Videos
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2011, 09:38:36 AM »

primary dns = all 0's
secondary = all 0's

These need to be filled in. You can find these addresses that the router is getting from the ISP modem under Status/Device Info/Wan section. Copy and paste these 2 DNS addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual.

Ensure DNS relay is ON.
Ensure Advanced DNS Services is OFF.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2