• August 18, 2019, 08:22:49 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Wireless works; Wired does not  (Read 5912 times)

diphen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Wireless works; Wired does not
« on: January 28, 2009, 11:56:25 AM »

Brand new DSM-520 upgraded to the latest firmware:

- Wireless w/ DHCP or Static IP works
- Wired w/ DHCP or Static IP does NOT work (link light is lit up)
- Laptop using the same cable/port on the router works just fine

Has anyone seen a similar issue?  I've tried just about everything except downgrading to a previous firmware version or RMA.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Logged

krrp

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Wireless works; Wired does not
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 12:24:58 PM »

I've the same problem too.  Any help or suggestion pls.
Logged

fccgrant

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
Re: Wireless works; Wired does not
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 06:56:21 PM »

Are you connecting directly to the computer or using a router?  If connecting directly to a computer you will need a crossover cable.  A standard network cable is required for connection to a router.
Logged

diphen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Wireless works; Wired does not
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2009, 08:23:54 AM »

Are you connecting directly to the computer or using a router?  If connecting directly to a computer you will need a crossover cable.  A standard network cable is required for connection to a router.

The DSM connects to a router.  I know the cable/port configuration is correct since I can plug a laptop using the same cable and grab an IP/data transfer with no issues.

The only other thing I can think of is speed/duplex negotiation mismatching.  Is there a way to manually set the speed/duplex on the DSM-520?
Logged

fccgrant

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
Re: Wireless works; Wired does not
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2009, 10:14:16 AM »

No way of changing the speed on the DSM.  You should be able to on the network configuration control panel in Windows, though.
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Wireless works; Wired does not
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2009, 12:23:24 PM »

Have you tried setting a static IP address and to ping the IP address given from your PC?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

diphen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Wireless works; Wired does not
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2009, 01:18:35 PM »

Have you tried setting a static IP address and to ping the IP address given from your PC?

Yes, tried a static IP address and get no ping response.  Although I do get a ping reply when configuring the same static IP on Wireless.

It is definitely something with the Wired configuration, but the router and cable test good.  Seems to be a faulty NIC or duplex mismatch in the DSM-520.

Thanks
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Wireless works; Wired does not
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2009, 01:56:53 PM »

Yeah I would recommend contacting technical support Via telephone. See if they can help or they just may need to issue you a replacement. 
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream