• September 21, 2014, 03:03:26 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How do I add my Xbox360 console's MAC address to my router's authorized list?  (Read 3768 times)

aaron

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

I cant really find anything about MAC address filtering in the tabs of the router administrator page.. Has anyone here some experience with this?  ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27992
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology

Check out the DGL-4500 forum for the Gaming and Gamefule sticky. I would recommend not using Mac address filtering for gaming. The sticky will have all info for you though. Let us know if you need some help.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2011, 07:20:25 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

aaron

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

WHAT?!  Why would I add a filter to my router if the xbox worked just fine before.  I was running through about 10 different steps to try and get my xbox back online again. (the internet works) This is just one of those ten steps...  Luckily, I haven't changed anything yet!  I'm not trying to add a filter to my router, only take one away if there is a weird one preventing me from connecting!  :P
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27992
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology

Just follow the sticky for XBL. No Mac filter needed.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

aaron

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

Thanks, I assume Qos means quality of service, but what is "Gamefuel"?  I'm running everything through a wireless Xbox360, not a PC
Logged

aaron

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

P.S.
I understand you probably get a better connection with the setup you are using/ referring to.. However, why are you implying it is necessary to input all of those numbers just to get an xbox360 to work?  (mine worked before without configuring anything fancy)

.. I looked on the D-Link website for the DIR-825 and found the following message:



It vaguely refers to firmware issue, but I am hoping it's about the old xbox console, and not the 360.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 09:57:06 AM by aaron »
Logged

aaron

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

 :)OK :)
last update on my own reply.  :'(

Looking at the router configuration I've written down, I can see what could be two issues
(remarkable, considering what i know about this stuff.)

1) There are now, strangely, two SSID's set up simultaneously on one router.  It is highly likely that when my landlord called the ISP to re-do a configuration, they set things this up this way so I can do my gaming (they are the ones who sold us a "better router for gaming"). Take a look at the configuration I listed in the link and then tell me what you think. I circled the differences between the two SSID's. (Neither one of them connects)
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a349/coffeyville1975/SSIDs.jpg

2) My Xbox360 receiver (the white one with a single antennae) is for B/G/A and not N.  However both SSID's of my router have been re-configured.. one with 'A/N' and the other with 'B/A/N'.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27992
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology

First of all you have 2 radios that can do separate SSID names and I would recommend you changing the Names of each to something other than DLINK. They can be anything you want. Mine are Airport G and and Airport N for example.

2ndly, If you don't have any devices and specifically uses A or B modes, which are older modes and not used as much any more if at all, I recommend changing the modes to Single Mode G on the 2.4Ghz radio and Single mode N on the 5Ghz radio if you have any devices that use 5Ghz. If you don't then there is no need to have this radio on and it can be turn off until such time as when you get a 5Ghz device. The xboxes do not support 5Ghz natively. Only 2.4Ghz.

The reason why your xbox isn't connecting is that probably is looking for G over N and the router isn't set up well for it to connect. Thats why you need to set up single mode G first and test out the connection. Once you get the G mode working and the xbox connects then try testing the N mode on 2.4Ghz.

QoS is the same thing as Gamefuel, I posted an example of what I use on my 825 which was copied direct from Gamefule on my 4500. Even though for some reason I can't use the same Remote IP address range on the 825 as the 4500. I'm waiting on a answer from Dlink about this. So use the 255.255.255.255 range on the 825.

Reason for setting up xbox and QoS is to allow the router to manage and give some priority to the xbox while gaming should other devices be online at the same time to help reduce traffic collisions, lag and such. I have a couple of PCs loaded in QoS along with the xbox so that the router know, if there all online at the same time, xbox gets priority traffic over the PCs, however they still get internet with out interruption.

Let me know if you need some help, can use teamviewer.com to help you out.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting