Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Upgrading the Firmware on the DIR-655 Router  (Read 3542 times)
The Hat
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« on: July 17, 2011, 09:33:22 AM »

Currently I'm still using Firmware 1.10 because I have not been experiencing any problems with the router. Yesterday I began experiencing some serious problems and I thought I would upgrade the firmware before deciding to replace router with a new one. I noticed there have been several updates to the firmware since I originally installed the router with the current available firmware version of 1.35NA.

In order to migrate from firmware 1.10 to 1.35NA do I have to install all the interim firmware releases or can I just go to 1.35NA and install it?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27004


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2011, 10:08:15 AM »

What are the problems you are experiencing?
I would recommend troubleshooting the problem before updgrading...
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
thecreator
Level 6 Member
*
Posts: 794


« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2011, 11:31:30 AM »

Currently I'm still using Firmware 1.10 because I have not been experiencing any problems with the router. Yesterday I began experiencing some serious problems and I thought I would upgrade the firmware before deciding to replace router with a new one. I noticed there have been several updates to the firmware since I originally installed the router with the current available firmware version of 1.35NA.

In order to migrate from firmware 1.10 to 1.35NA do I have to install all the interim firmware releases or can I just go to 1.35NA and install it?


Hi The Hat,

If you go with an Upgrade of the Firmware, and your HardWare Revision is A3, go with Firmware Version 1.21 without SecureSpot and no further.

Go can upgrade and downgrade from 1.10 through 1.21 without problems. You can't downgrade if you install 1.3# versions.

Version 1.21 runs just fine.
Logged

thecreator - Running a Verizon FIOS / ActionTec MI424WR Router into a D-Link DIR-655 Router Rev. A3, Firmware 1.21 and a D-Link DWA-552 Wireless Network PCI Adapter Card. OP Sys: Win XP HE SP 3 now on both partitions. - DNS-323 with Firmware 1.08
The Hat
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2011, 03:11:32 PM »

What are the problems you are experiencing?
I would recommend troubleshooting the problem before updgrading...

The DCHP Server is assigning the same IP address to 2 devices therefore I cannot connect to the internet with either one.

After the router has been on for a while I keep getting a connection error with one of my wireless devices although I can connect ok using all of my wireless devices. I can't understand the error because the router indicates the wireless devices are connected to it. and the signal strength is 100%

Yesterday I had the situation where I could not connect to the Internet using either any wireless or wired device then after shutting down the router overnight I was able to connect this morning using any device. Everything was okay up until an hour ago the once again I could not connect using a wireless device which is still the case as I write. As of now the wired devices are working okay but I sit here wondering when they are going to go out.

Any recommendations as to where the problem is or do you think the router is on it's last leg. I bought and installed this router on 12/6/2007 which is 3 1/2 years ago.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2011, 05:55:22 PM by The Hat » Logged
The Hat
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2011, 03:18:05 PM »

Hi The Hat,

If you go with an Upgrade of the Firmware, and your HardWare Revision is A3, go with Firmware Version 1.21 without SecureSpot and no further.

Go can upgrade and downgrade from 1.10 through 1.21 without problems. You can't downgrade if you install 1.3# versions.

Version 1.21 runs just fine.


Thanks. I will take your suggestion as soon as I hear what FurryNutz has to say about why the DHCP Server is assigning the same IP address. I was looking for a way to do IP reservations the way I could when I was using the DLink DI-624 router but I don't see the screen.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27004


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2011, 06:33:02 PM »

The DCHP Server is assigning the same IP address to 2 devices therefore I cannot connect to the internet with either one.

After the router has been on for a while I keep getting a connection error with one of my wireless devices although I can connect ok using all of my wireless devices. I can't understand the error because the router indicates the wireless devices are connected to it. and the signal strength is 100%

Yesterday I had the situation where I could not connect to the Internet using either any wireless or wired device then after shutting down the router overnight I was able to connect this morning using any device. Everything was okay up until an hour ago the once again I could not connect using a wireless device which is still the case as I write. As of now the wired devices are working okay but I sit here wondering when they are going to go out.

Any recommendations as to where the problem is or do you think the router is on it's last leg. I bought and installed this router on 12/6/2007 which is 3 1/2 years ago.

Setup Reserved (Static) IP addresses on the router for your devices.
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Ensure Advanced DNS Service is disabled if you have this option.
Ensure DNS Relay is enabled.
Set Firewall NAT to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP.

What wireless modes are you running? Mixed? Single?
Try single mode G to test, then try mixed G and N.
Any cordless phones in the house?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
The Hat
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2011, 08:04:14 PM »

Setup Reserved (Static) IP addresses on the router for your devices.
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Ensure Advanced DNS Service is disabled if you have this option.
Ensure DNS Relay is enabled.
Set Firewall NAT to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP.

What wireless modes are you running? Mixed? Single?
Try single mode G to test, then try mixed G and N.
Any cordless phones in the house?


Yes to cordless phones in the house but they've been here as long as I've had the router. The problem really started when I bought a Motorola Atrix 4G smartphone a couple of months ago and started using Wi-Fi for connecting to the Internet rather than using my Data Plan. That's why I thought it might be a firmware issue since the use of smartphones on Wi_Fi was not a big issue like it is today.

You mention "Setup Reserved (Static) IP addresses on the router for your devices". That's what I did when I was using the Dlink DI-624 but I have not been able to find that setup screen on the 655. Where is it?

I'm running mixed mode because all of my wireless adapters are N except my phone which is G. Tomorrow I'll make the other setup changes as you suggest and will report back as to the results.

Thanks for your assistance because I feel I may be closing in on the problem,
« Last Edit: July 17, 2011, 08:08:01 PM by The Hat » Logged
thecreator
Level 6 Member
*
Posts: 794


« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2011, 09:13:39 PM »


You mention "Setup Reserved (Static) IP addresses on the router for your devices". That's what I did when I was using the Dlink DI-624 but I have not been able to find that setup screen on the 655. Where is it?



Hi The Hat,

http://192.168.0.1/Basic/Network.shtml

Sign in first.
Logged

thecreator - Running a Verizon FIOS / ActionTec MI424WR Router into a D-Link DIR-655 Router Rev. A3, Firmware 1.21 and a D-Link DWA-552 Wireless Network PCI Adapter Card. OP Sys: Win XP HE SP 3 now on both partitions. - DNS-323 with Firmware 1.08
The Hat
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2011, 10:59:54 AM »


Thanks thecreator

I found it and setup the Reserved (Static) IP addresses

Thanks again for the directions
Logged
The Hat
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2011, 11:06:34 AM »

Setup Reserved (Static) IP addresses on the router for your devices.
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Ensure Advanced DNS Service is disabled if you have this option.
Ensure DNS Relay is enabled.
Set Firewall NAT to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP.

What wireless modes are you running? Mixed? Single?
Try single mode G to test, then try mixed G and N.
Any cordless phones in the house?


Made the following changes.
  • Setup Reserved IP addresses for all devices
    Set Firewall NAT to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP

Under "Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual, is the information asked for a duplication of the information shown on the Status>Device Info screen?

I could not a listing for "Advanced DNS Service" under any tab. That's not to say it's not there but it does say a 75 year old man that been involved in computers since the early 1970's can't find it. It's called "Senior Moments"  Smiley

The same applies to "Ensure DNS Relay" is enabled.

I can report that based on the above changes everything seems to working smooth again especially connecting to the Internet using my Atrix 4G. I maybe be wrong but I think the change in "Set Firewall NAT to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP" done the trick because it was set to "Address Restricted" in both cases. Once that change was made along with saving and rebooting the router, I had no trouble connecting to the Internet for email and surfing with Firefox.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2011, 11:30:45 AM by The Hat » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27004


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2011, 02:01:16 PM »

Made the following changes.
  • Setup Reserved IP addresses for all devices
    Set Firewall NAT to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP

Under "Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual, is the information asked for a duplication of the information shown on the Status>Device Info screen? YES, and should be the same.

I could not a listing for "Advanced DNS Service" under any tab. That's not to say it's not there but it does say a 75 year old man that been involved in computers since the early 1970's can't find it. It's called "Senior Moments"  Smiley Advanced DNS Service will be under Setup/Internet/Manual if you have this option.

The same applies to "Ensure DNS Relay" is enabled.

I can report that based on the above changes everything seems to working smooth again especially connecting to the Internet using my Atrix 4G. I maybe be wrong but I think the change in "Set Firewall NAT to Endpoint Independent for both TCP and UDP" done the trick because it was set to "Address Restricted" in both cases. Once that change was made along with saving and rebooting the router, I had no trouble connecting to the Internet for email and surfing with Firefox.

Hope it works well. I would save the routers configuration to file for future use under Advanced/System and Save config.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
The Hat
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2011, 04:59:49 PM »

Hope it works well. I would save the routers configuration to file for future use under Advanced/System and Save config.

My sincere thanks for all of your help.

The Hat
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27004


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2011, 05:02:06 PM »

 Wink
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.