+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Xtreme N (Platinum Products)» DIR-825» Issue with netflix
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Issue with netflix  (Read 5971 times)
jckbr13
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: June 26, 2011, 04:45:35 PM »

All of a sudden, we can't stream Netflix.  I have spent hours on the phone with Netflix, Mediacom, Vizio and D-Link trying to get this working.

Our Vizio has the Netflix application and others.  All of the others work fine.  Everything tests fine.  Netflix says D-Link needs to fix it so the router will approve the streaming??  We can stream Netflix on the laptops, so it is working, just not on the tv.  D-Link did walk me thru getting the latest firmware, and did add the 443 port that Netflix said was needed, but that still didn't help.    We've unplugged/rebooted everything.

Anyone familiar with these issues???

Please take it easy on me, not very tech savvy here.   Smiley
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2011, 07:32:56 PM »

Is Multi-Media Streaming enabled under Advanced, Networking?
Try settings firewall to Endpoint Independent to test.
What ISP service do you have? DSL or Cable?
What ISP modem do you have? Stand alone or does it have a built in router by chance?

Setup Reserved (Static) IP addresses on the router for your devices.
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Ensure Advanced DNS Service is disabled if you have this option.
Ensure DNS Relay is enabled.

If your connecting to netflix on the LT and not on the TV, possible the TV needs some troubleshooting?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
jckbr13
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 06:53:40 PM »

Ok, I'll try and answer what I can. LOL

Multi-media streaming is enabled
Set firewall to Endpoint Independent and made no difference
We get our internet thru Mediacom and I believe it is just Cable
The modem is from Mediacom and is made by RCA and it does not have a router built in

Netflix said it does not have static IP addresses


We have definitely narrowed it down to being a router issue, since we went directly from the modem to the tv and it worked just fine.  So TV is not the issue.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2011, 09:26:06 PM »

Setup Reserved (Static) IP addresses on the router for your devices (tv).
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Ensure Advanced DNS Service is disabled if you have this option Setup/Internet/Manual.
Ensure DNS Relay is enabled Setup/Networking.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
grandforker
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 25


« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2011, 06:55:31 AM »

I don't think the problems you're experiencing are with your router as much as they are with Netflix. It took me weeks of experimenting with different settings and setups before I finally got Netflix to stream semi-reliably. I'm convinced that most of my problems are because of my Sony S580 BluRay player and Netflix. I gave up on trying to get Sony's built-in wireless to work directly with my DIR-825.

I had everything running just fine for several weeks and then -- BOOM! All of a sudden, a TV show I was streaming in HD from Netflix locked up. I had to shut off the BluRay player to get out of it. When I turned it back on, I couldn't connect to the Internet. When I checked my connection settings, they were totally hosed. The player was trying to use an IP address that doesn't even exist on my network.

After I ran the cutom network connection setup for the BluRay player and changed everything back to where it had been, it worked fine. I have no idea how or why this happened. All I know is that it happened while streaming Netflix. I don't have those problems with streaming any other service.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2011, 07:00:59 AM »

How is the TV connected to the router?
If wireless, try changing wifi modes from mixed to single mode G or N.

Wired is preferred for streaming  Roll Eyes
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
grandforker
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 25


« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2011, 07:15:51 AM »

jckbr13, you might want to take a look at this thread:

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=38592.0
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.