• September 23, 2019, 10:26:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Security Question  (Read 5143 times)

zmaint

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Security Question
« on: May 13, 2011, 04:42:04 PM »

Can the number of connected PC's be hidden?  My ISP is somehow able to access this information without my permission.   Polling the cable modem for "performance" and "service" related information is within our terms of service.   Collecting data on the number of PC's and anything else on my LAN is not within the terms, and quite frankly none of their business.   God only knows what other information they are stealing without my knowledge.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47768
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Security Question
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2011, 11:42:39 AM »

Is there a PW set for the admin log in to the router? Is firewall enabled?
They should only beable to detect the cablemodem and the IP from the router on the WAN side.
The LAN side should be safe.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zmaint

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Security Question
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2011, 01:00:01 PM »

Yes I have a strong password on the router.   Firewall is enabled and I have nothing in the DMZ.   I know they packet sniff and are most likely selling my browsing information to advertisers.   What I don't know is how they know how many PC's I have connected.   Like you said, I've always believed the most they could see was the modem, and the MAC of the router that was making the IP request.  Is it possible the are gleaning the info from the packets? 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47768
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Security Question
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2011, 06:57:27 PM »

What FW version is currently loaded on the router. Not sure if this will help or not.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zmaint

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Security Question
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2011, 08:55:01 PM »

Firmware Version : 1.7 ,    2006/09/15
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47768
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Security Question
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2011, 06:53:10 AM »

Have they said anything to you about having more then one PC on there network? How many devices do you have on your network?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zmaint

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Security Question
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2011, 10:48:05 AM »

Not yet.  But there have been rumors that they are going to start charging extra for additional connected devices, as if their pricing already wasn't sky high. 

There's a section on my account page where it shows how many detected "devices" are currently connected.   Right now it appears that whatever method of information theft they are using, does not work past switch level.  They correctly detect the 2 PC's I have connected directly to the router, but cannot at this time see any of the other PCs/devices that I have connected via switches and AP's.  It also cannot detect my work laptop that connects directly to the router, but runs through a VPN.

So, I'm not sure if my router is giving up the info, or if they are packet sniffing to detect.   Packet sniffing makes sense because they can't see the VPN laptop, but I'm not sold on that because it doesn't explain why they can't see the other stuff behind the switches.  If the router is giving up the info, it could explain why they can't see past the switches, but I'd think it should show the VPN laptop since it should still show a "connection" even if the packets are secure. 

I guess an answer could be to just run everything behind a switch and plug nothing directly into the router...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47768
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Security Question
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2011, 11:03:44 AM »

That might work.
I have the DGL 4500 and have a 24Pt switch connected to it. Only thing I have directly connected to the router is 2 xboxes.

Would be curious if this happens with a newer router.  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting