• December 10, 2019, 10:15:30 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: ADS 1.01 not showing users from 2008 32-bit AD but works for 2008 R2 64-bit AD  (Read 6960 times)

UrbanDK

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8

Updated firmware to 1.04 and installed ADS 1.01 add-on application.

Under Setup->Device if I use the AD Server Name of a 2008 32-bit AD server the user names and groups are not populated on the Advanced->Users/Groups.

If I change the Setup->Device to use an AD Server Name of a 2008 R2 64-bit AD server, the user names and groups populate.

So,
2008 32-bit AD does NOT work until you setup a 64-bit AD 2008 server.
2008 R2 64-bit AD does work

I was able to change Setup->Device back to the 32-bit AD server and have users and groups populate the Advanced->Users/Group page.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2011, 05:46:14 PM by UrbanDK »
Logged
DNS-343 [B1 Hardware] 4x1TB HDD (RAID5)
DIR-655 [A4 Hardware]
DGS-1008G (x2)
DGS-2208
DGS-2205
DAP-1522

chaicka

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87

Not true...

In the setup environment I have, the ADS 1.01 Add-On is now unable to connect to a MS Windows 2008 64-bit Domain Controller (aka Active Directory server).

Without any changes to the Active Directory or Win2008 64-bit server, the previous ADS that came with firmware 1.04b3 works fine. After upgrade to v1.04 official and ADS 1.01, it refuse to work anymore.

I am now forced to run DNS-343 in standalone mode until more testing and troubleshooting can be done to determine the cause of failure.

Note: The entire forest of 4 domain controllers (2 on root domain, 2 on child domain) runs on Windows 2008 64-bit. Have yet to upgrade any of them to Windows 2008 R2 yet.
Logged

UrbanDK

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8

Maybe this isn't a 32/64 bit issue.

I had changed my AD Server Name to a different ADS the names and groups populated.  Maybe it is just an issue of changing to a different AD Server for authentication.  I had assumed it was a 32/64 bit issue because the ADS app started working after the change.  Other attempts failed,

Chaicka, have you attempted to point the ADS application to a different server on the Setup -> Device window?
Logged
DNS-343 [B1 Hardware] 4x1TB HDD (RAID5)
DIR-655 [A4 Hardware]
DGS-1008G (x2)
DGS-2208
DGS-2205
DAP-1522

wyclefchin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

@UrbanDk

did you change any settings on the Windows Server 2008 R2 to make your DNS-343 join the AD?
Could you post your configuration settings (domain functional level, LmCompatibilityLevel)?

« Last Edit: May 17, 2012, 09:15:47 PM by wyclefchin »
Logged

UrbanDK

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8

Function level: Windows Server 2008
LmCompatibilityLevel: 2
Logged
DNS-343 [B1 Hardware] 4x1TB HDD (RAID5)
DIR-655 [A4 Hardware]
DGS-1008G (x2)
DGS-2208
DGS-2205
DAP-1522

wyclefchin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

Function level: Windows Server 2008
LmCompatibilityLevel: 2

Thanks...same as mine. Now what am I'm doing wrong ???
Logged