+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Xtreme N (Platinum Products)» DIR-655 » Broadcast SSID
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Broadcast SSID  (Read 2012 times)
SeriousTom
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« on: April 11, 2011, 08:04:06 AM »

Hi, first post & wireless newbie.
I have been trying for days to get a HP Photosmart Plus B209a wireless printer to work with my D-Link DIR-655
Going through the HP setup cd for I get to the section where it wants to hookup a usb cable to get router settings and finds my network and then I put in the password. Then after looking for a bit it says it can't find the printer.
Looking at the wireless status page it says the ip address is 0.0.0.0
Reading on HP's website it says that you must have the router set to broadcast the SSID, I believe mine is set to hide. How would I go about changing it to broadcast AND would it mess up all my other settings changing it to Broadcast, meaning will I have to reconfigure the other computers again ?
Do I use the set up wizard to edit things or is that for first time set up ?
WPA Only - Personal
Wireless Radio : Enabled
802.11 Mode : Mixed 802.11n, 802.11g and 802.11b
Channel Width : 20MHz
Channel : 6
WISH : Active
Wi-Fi Protected Setup : Enabled/Configured
« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 08:11:45 AM by SeriousTom » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 08:18:08 AM »

Need to go into the routers web page and unhide the SSID under Setup/Wireless/Manual. You can keep the other settings the same.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
SeriousTom
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2011, 04:09:00 PM »

Okay, Thanks I've got that.
I actually printed from every computer now but when I shut down and restarted it says the printer is off line.
I went to the wireless status page of the router and it is listing it as 0.0.0.0 instead of the 192.168.0.xxx that it was when it was working. Any ideas ?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2011, 04:28:45 PM »

Is the SSID still viewable? After you get the printer to recognize the WiFi and get an IP address on the router. I would go into the router and set up a reserved IP address under Setup/Network settings. This will esure the printer keeps the same IP address every time. If you re-hide the WiFi SSID, the printer might not have the ability to reconnect if it's hidden. You'll have to check with the OEM on that.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
SeriousTom
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2011, 01:23:59 PM »

Thanks Mr Furry,
  I reserved the ip address and that is working great, as for the off line bit, well that's kind of embarrassing  Embarrassed I just had to double click my printer and uncheck work off line.
I hope D-Link gives you a little payola of some sort,
Thanks for the help !
Happily printing away  Smiley
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2011, 03:04:54 PM »

Good to hear man. Glad it all working great for ya. Enjoy.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.