+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Xtreme N (Platinum Products)» DIR-655 » DIR-655 low signal strength
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: DIR-655 low signal strength  (Read 5728 times)
spencer1234
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« on: March 25, 2011, 12:31:30 PM »

I have my DIR-655 router set up on the first floor because my son's tricked out gaming rig is in the basement while our office is on the 2nd floor.  On the router, I tweaked settings to give him priority speed when he is gaming.  Although he complains about his speeds and connectivity, it is the best in the house.  In our 2nd floor office -- which is one floor and 30 ft through a wall away -- my signal strength varies from 45% to 70%.  There are times when neighbor's networks show greater strength than mine does.  I live in a house so the physical distance is much greater plus there are two exterior walls, no matter where their router is placed.  The adapter in the office computer is a D-Link DWA-556. 

I downloaded WiFi Analyzer and InSSider in order to find the best channel to be on.  Previously I was on 11 but there were two neighbors with strong signals so I moved to 1 b/c there was no interference there.  Now, my signal strength is less and my neighbor's have moved to channel 5.  I am confused.  This happened in less than 5 minutes.  BTW, my son is at work so his computer is idle.

One other question is about my computer specs.  My office computer is older and has an AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+ processor.  Could the older processor have any effect on my wifi signal?  My router is configured to WPA2 encryption with AES cipher, channel width 20/40 auto, mixed g/n signal (because my laptop is g).  Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Theresa
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27635


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 12:54:01 PM »

physical location and placement along with building materials is critical sometimes when dealing with WiFi signals.

Can you test your configuration with just Single mode G and see how the signal does with this setting.

It's possible that you may need to get a relay unit into your office area to achieve better signal. Specially dealing with how far it has to travel and the building material in the way.

Does your son do it gaming over wired or wireless. If he's wireless, I would recommend changing to wired. If he's wired, you could move the router to a better place or closer to the office and then you'll need to run cabling to his PC to make up the distance. Wired is preferred for gaming and video streaming. This option might be easier to do. His PC doesn't need to have the router close if he's wired.

Older processors don't effect the signal or speed. It's all about the quality of signal and how well the devices are set up and the placement of the router.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
spencer1234
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2011, 01:12:14 PM »

Furry:

When I tried g only the signal dropped to 41%.

My son games wirelessly.  I know wired is better but it is a horrible hassle to run the cabling.

As far as the placement of router versus office computer, visualize two boxes with two boxes stacked on top.  The router is in the bottom left box outside wall and the computer is in the top right box outside wall.  The house is 40 years old, with wooden stud and drywall construction for interior walls and floors.

Also, can you explain how my neighbor's are following my channel switches?  The signal strength on WiFi Analyzer is hovering around 75 dBm and theirs are registering 82-85 dBm.  Explanation?

Thanks for the help.
Theresa
Logged
spencer1234
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2011, 01:14:36 PM »

One other thing, my router has harware ver A4 and firmware ver 1.32NA.  Should I upgrade the firmware?  What about upgrading drivers on my wireless card?

Thanks,
Theresa
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27635


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2011, 01:26:56 PM »

Upgrading FW probably wont help in this situation. Your getting wireless connectivity. FW updates are more more problematic issues that your not seeing here. As for your neighbors router following the channel changes, it shouldn't unless he's actively switching or the router is doing it automatically. Not sure why it would pic the same channel and really shouldn't.

Yes, I would updated the drivers to the latest if available for Wireless cards.

I think in your case I would look into getting a extra access point/relay device that you can connect near or closer to your office that can extend and relay the 655 routers signal. I presume you use the router for just general Internet purposes and you don't do any gaming or need high traffic bandwidth and if so, then this would probably be the best option for you.

Whats the signal like if you use n only as a test?

You might talk to your neighbor and ask him if you and they can set up manual channel settings so they will occupy one channel as far away as you can, then set yours up manually away from them. If you set each manually then they wont travel.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2011, 01:29:16 PM by FurryNutz » Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
davevt31
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1251



« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2011, 01:48:39 PM »

Might want to try one of these:

http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=ANT24-0230

Then you can move antennas around  to find a better signal.
Logged

spencer1234
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2011, 02:00:16 PM »

Furry and Dave:

I updated the driver for my adapter and suddenly have signal from 78% to 100%.  Thanks for the antenna suggestion.  I will look into that if the signal degrades again.

The office computer is solely for my online classwork and banking or word processing.  I occasionally stream a movie to my laptop upstairs but that is never a problem. 

I should consider the hardwire connection for my son -- just don't want to have to tear up walls.  We are a military family and probably won't be here much longer.

Thanks again for the help!
Theresa
Logged
davevt31
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1251



« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2011, 03:53:12 PM »

May want to look into Powerline Ethernet Adapters.  Never have used them but have seen posts about them.  They pulg into an outlet and use existing house wire to carry the signal.
Logged

Glda19
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2011, 02:27:03 PM »

have the same think.
Bougth the same router and i had contact with the support of d-link. And thy now the problem sometimes the wifi drops the signal.
I let my router tested in the shop. But they say he works fine. Preventive they change the router with the same type. But the support of d-link told me to change the router for a 635 of a higer model.
I tested the replaced router but every thing is the same.
Tomorrow i will thake contact with d-link and here what  they say
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27635


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2011, 07:23:17 AM »

I would start a new post with details of your problem so we might better help you on this.

have the same think.
Bougth the same router and i had contact with the support of d-link. And thy now the problem sometimes the wifi drops the signal.
I let my router tested in the shop. But they say he works fine. Preventive they change the router with the same type. But the support of d-link told me to change the router for a 635 of a higer model.
I tested the replaced router but every thing is the same.
Tomorrow i will thake contact with d-link and here what  they say
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.