Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wireless Works but Lan connection does not have inetrnet connection  (Read 3208 times)
Netman
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: March 21, 2011, 08:17:30 PM »

I just bought a "DLink Xtreme N Gigabit Router DIR-655"  I configured it correctly.  It works well for the wireless connection but my Lan connection (wired connection) does not work.  The Lan computer connects to the router but cannot access the internet.  All of my machines work OK with a Netgear G router, including the Lan computer.

What am I doing wrong ?

Please advise,

Thanks

Matt
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 10:10:32 AM »

Are you getting any status on the wired PC that it's connecting?
What OS platform are you using on the wired PC?
Are you getting any status on the router that the wired PC is connected and getting an IP address?
Is the wired PC set for auto obtain IP addressing?
Ensure the LAN cables are good? Swap out?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Netman
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2011, 08:59:42 PM »

Hi,

OS:  Win XP Pro SP3 uptodate
Patch Cables: New CATe5 cables work perfectly with Netgear G Router
The wired PC does connect to the router and obtains an IP address.
I even had the email work once, but the browser was never able to access the internet.
I use Firefox 3.6, I can connect to the web interface of the router but not to the internet.
The network status on the PC showed connected with 1Gigabit connection, used Windows Repair Network function but did not help.

I keep wondering, under what circumstances would email work but not the web browser ?

Please advise,

Thanks

Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2011, 10:16:42 PM »

What ISP service do you have? DSL or Cable?
Is the ISP modem a stand alone modem or does it have a built in router?

Make sure the router is getting a Primary and 2ndary DNS ip addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Are you using advanced DNS service? Try disabling this to test.
Ensure DNS relay is enabled undert Setup/network settings.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Netman
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2011, 06:53:50 PM »

Hi,

Using RCN cable connection with a Motrola Surfboard SB 5100 standalone modem.


Advanced DNS is disabled.  DNS relay is enabled.  But the router does NOT seem to get a primary and secondary DNS address and I do not know how to force it to.

Thanks

Matt
Logged
davevt31
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1251



« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2011, 07:05:33 PM »

Power everything down. Unplug Router and unplug power form cable modem  Plug in Cable modem and give it a few minutes to boot-up.  Next plug in router and give that a minute to boot-up.  Last power on Computer and see if this works.
Logged

FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2011, 10:54:40 AM »

You need to review the Status/Device Info/Wan section and see if your getting Primary and 2ndary DNS IPs there. You should, if so, copy and paste them into the Setup/Internet/manual section.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Netman
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2011, 09:04:09 AM »

I finally got it working.  Thanks everyone for helping.

Two small but different issues

1- I cannot find the link for Shareport download, can someone please provide a clickable link.

2- There is a push button on the right side of the router that has 2 arrows in a circle, what is this button for ?  There is no mention of it in the documentation.

Thanks
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2011, 11:00:57 AM »

I finally got it working.  Thanks everyone for helping.

Two small but different issues

1- I cannot find the link for Shareport download, can someone please provide a clickable link.
http://www.dlink.com/products/?tab=3&pid=DIR-655&rev=DIR-655 Look under Additional Downloads.
2- There is a push button on the right side of the router that has 2 arrows in a circle, what is this button for ?  There is no mention of it in the documentation.
This is for the protected WiFi quick connect fuction. You would hit the button on the router and the device, i.e. printer or something that has this feature and they will automatically connect and set up.
Thanks
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
davevt31
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1251



« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2011, 11:02:18 AM »

Go to the main DLink site for all downloads.

The square button is for WPS.  Do a search for Square button in this forum and there are a few threads explanining it.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.