• December 18, 2014, 11:56:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can’t access DVR through router from internet  (Read 18269 times)

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« on: March 16, 2011, 01:15:50 PM »

I have the DGL-4300 and have a problem accessing my network DVR from the internet; I have tried forwarding the ports on the DVR in the router but still can’t access it, I tried all settings possible.

I have done a port forwarding check (PFPortChecker) and it shows the ports are still closed.

What am I doing wrong?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 06:53:50 AM »

try setting SPI firewall to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP. Turn SPI Off to test. Does the DVR have access abilities from the Internet?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2011, 01:10:09 PM »

Yes the DVR had access to the internet at one time, but due to bandwidth restrictions I had to shut that off, now with my new ISP I have no restrictions and am trying to get it up and running again, I don't remember what I shut off, my old brain is not working too good lately.

If I turn the SPI off and it works can I leave it off?

Or would that open me up to everything that may be not wanted?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2011, 01:33:19 PM »

What DVR make and model is this?
What DVR service are you trying to connect too and use?

That would open you up to everything, you need to leave that one ON. If it's working with SPI off, then you need to assign a static reserved IP address for the DVR on the router. Then you need to call up the Mfr for this DVR or the DVR svc provider and ask them if there are specific Ports or any IP addresses it uses to communicate over the Internet and if you can get these port numbers, you need to put this into the Advanced/Application or the Advanced/Gaming rules so that the router will not not to block anything for this IP adderss for the DVR. Maybe they can help you with configuring the router too.

You could try this in meantime. Get the Static IP adderss set up for the DVR on the router.
Go into the router and use the Advanced/Gaming rule.
Give a name, i.e. DVR or something.
Enter in the IP address for the DVR that you gave it.
For:TCP Ports to Open :   0-65535
For UDP Ports to Open :  0-65535

Inbound filter: Allow All
Schedule: Always.

Once you find out the specific ports the DVR service uses, then change the TCP and UDP ports to be specific.

Let us know how this goes.


Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2011, 11:22:36 PM »

The DVR is a .264 (that’s all that is on it) 4 channel security camera recorder, the DVR service says “Web application Manager” the ports are “9000” for the media port and the web port is “5400”.

I have a fixed IP address on it; and I can access it on the network but not via the internet.

Now what port gets the “UDP” and the “TCP”?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2011, 10:01:45 AM »

Ok now see if you can set the 9000 and 5400 to the gaming rule instead of using the global ports. Just set them for both in this fashion:
TCP: 5400, 9000
UDP: 5400, 9000

There maybe a configuration on the DVR that needs to be enabled maybe to access it from the Internet. Also the way your trying to access it from the Internet side could be affecting the connection. Like how your putting in a URL address or something, i.e. http or https://www.Address.com:portnumber? Not sure about this.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2011, 11:29:21 AM »

OK both ports have been set to 5400, 9000 and I still get zip, I’m checking this with a port checker program, it reports back that the TCP ports are not open; it can only check the UDP ports to a PC.

How you access the DVR is by going to IE (it wont work on other browsers) and typing in the IP address of the DVR and the port number.

Example: hXXp://10.10.10.10:5400, it then downloads the OCX control program for the DVR to the PC that accessed it, you enter a password and your in, if your on the same network you select LAN and it works fine.

My problem is getting it to work the second time; it worked fine for a bit until I had to shut it down due to bandwidth restrictions on my old ISP, I don’t have that problem now.

Maybe I should try a different IP address on the DVR? something may be restricted on the old one that I can’t find on the router???? Best guess on my part.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2011, 11:44:01 AM »

Try a different browser, if not then I would call up the service provider for the DVR and ask them and tell them that you've open everything up and still can't get connected. Seems like this could be a configuration issue on the DVR maybe.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2011, 11:57:08 AM »

I’m going out to the remote site today, will check the DVR and do a re-set to see if that helps, funny thing is the OCX control for this DVR only works on IE; it won’t work on FireFox or Opera as it cant find the correct add-on for those browsers to run it.

Will report back with any findings.
Logged

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2011, 01:05:22 AM »

OK, I checked the DVR and things look OK there, I can access it on the LAN side but not via the internet.

I changed ports and IP address, still not working, are there any other ports that I could try that may work better, ports I tried were 5400 and 5600, I didn’t change the 9000 port.

Any ideas will be welcome.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2011, 06:58:01 AM »

Was curious, can you access the DVR if you connect it directly to the ISP modem?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2011, 02:13:19 PM »

Thanks for the response,

Well thats one of the things I did try, connected it to the modem and went down the road to a WIFI spot, still couldn't get through.

I'm wondering if my ISP is blocking some ports?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2011, 02:48:06 PM »

Hmmm, ok, just wanted to see if you took the router out of the mix, does it do the same thing.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Terryl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2011, 04:46:13 PM »

OK I've tried everything, even a different DVR and still cant get through the router, I can get to port 80 but that's normal, so I no I can at least get through.

Is there any other setting or workaround I can try?
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1312
Re: Can’t access DVR through router from internet
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2011, 09:21:53 PM »

Yea, I think this is actually simpler then you think. First bypass your router, just to keep it simple for starters.  Next, what IP are you using when trying to access it? You need to be using the one listed on your routers status page under WAN.  Next, on someone elses connection, try it again. If it doesn't work, try to ping the IP. If the ping fails, perform a tracert. See where it fails. If it fails when it hits the first hop to your ISP, they are blocking the port. Also, what kind of modem do you have? Make sure it a normal modem, and not any modem/router gateway.
Logged