• October 23, 2014, 06:02:35 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port  (Read 3662 times)

ninja1234

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« on: February 18, 2011, 10:41:42 AM »

I installed the DIR 655 router using the install disk.  I hooked up my Vista desktop machine via the ethernet port.  I also activated a Roku box and my Itouch successfully via the wireless.

I turned MAC filtering on and manually entered the MAC addresses for the three devises.  Everything worked fine.

After I rebooted the desktop, I could no longer get to the internet via the desktop connected through the ethernet.  The Roku Box and I-Touch both work fine and enjoy a strong wireless connection.

I've tried rebooting the desktop several times, but still can not access the web.  I also can not access the router by typing in 192.168.0.1.  I entered the configsys stuff and verifited that I am using the right numbers.  Stilll not luck.

My Windows mail works fine and I also get up to date news flashes on my screen so I know the connection is good.

Could this bea Vista problem?  Any help would be appreciated.
Logged

robertMN

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2011, 10:46:51 AM »

perhaps an ip problem.
Open a command window:
 type ipconfig /all to see if there is connectivity at that level.
 if not, type ipconfig /renew

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2011, 10:58:20 AM »

Can you remove the Mac Filter for the Vista PC and test to see if you get Internet back?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ninja1234

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2011, 11:33:59 AM »

I wanted to do that, but I can't get to the router control by typing in the router address.

If I could, I feel comfortable that I could fix the access issue by changing the MAC filtering settings.

Any idea how I can get to the router control page under these circumstances?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2011, 11:39:59 AM »

sounds like the router locked ur pc out...think your best off to do a factory reset to clear the MAC filters. After that you should be able to get to the routers web page.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ninja1234

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2011, 12:05:43 PM »

If I set up MAC filtering incorrectly, or typed in the wrong MAC address would that lock me out of the router control section also?

If so, it seems strange that e-mail would still work.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2011, 12:26:23 PM »

I shouldn't and curious why your not getting to the routers web page after. I had set up Mac filtering just the other night on my Mac Book and it was configured in a way that I couldnt' get any internet, just the routers page. Something has happened. I would go back to factory defaults and see what you get. Then re-set up the Mac Filters. Just curious, there a reason for using Filters?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ninja1234

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2011, 12:40:27 PM »

I'm not much of a tech guy so it's a bummer to have to reset everything and hope it works better the second time.

The only reason I use the Mac Filter is because it's the way I set up another one (on someone's advice) and the only way I know how to provide access with some security.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2011, 12:57:47 PM »

ok, I understand.
It is possible that you set up the Mac Filter, that the IP addressed changed on the PC for some reason.

I would do this, reset to factory defaults. You should get access to the router then.

If so, then I would setup static IP addresses for your devices on the router. This will help make sure the IP addresses don't change and helps in troubleshooting. Make sure your getting Internet cleanly on each device.
 Before you set anything else up. Save off the configuration to file. This can be use to re-load from this point on so you don't have to re-type anything.

After that. Then do some configurations. If you seem to get things going ok, save off the configuration again, rename it something else. Keep both files.

I would recommend that if you don't live in a high populated area or surrounded by other WiFi  or have a lot of other devices around, that using default factory settings for security is probably best. I do understand peoples concerns for security however I have about 20 devices on my network along with WiFi and have never had any issues or call for mac filters. Yes they are handy and have there place. Just think about your system and the needs for it. The router can handle a lot and do a lot. I wouldn't over complicate it if there isn't a need for it. My 2 cents.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ninja1234

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2011, 01:04:07 PM »

Thanks.

I'm doing this for a relative and  won't be able to get to this for awhile, but will report back when I'm able.  Thanks again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2011, 01:14:16 PM »

Keeps us posted, here to help out.  ;)
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

thecreator

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 799
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2011, 01:16:07 PM »

I installed the DIR 655 router using the install disk.  I hooked up my Vista desktop machine via the ethernet port.  I also activated a Roku box and my Itouch successfully via the wireless.

I turned MAC filtering on and manually entered the MAC addresses for the three devises.  Everything worked fine.

After I rebooted the desktop, I could no longer get to the internet via the desktop connected through the ethernet.  The Roku Box and I-Touch both work fine and enjoy a strong wireless connection.

I've tried rebooting the desktop several times, but still can not access the web.  I also can not access the router by typing in 192.168.0.1.  I entered the configsys stuff and verifited that I am using the right numbers.  Stilll not luck.

My Windows mail works fine and I also get up to date news flashes on my screen so I know the connection is good.

Could this bea Vista problem?  Any help would be appreciated.

Hi ninja1234,

You are correct. You set everything up correctly on the Router. But you are wrong about this being a Vista Problem.

The problem is that you don't know about a program called Network Magic. It is no longer being supported by Cisco or Linksys after they acquired PureNetworks, who wrote Network Magic.

Well Windows Vista has a similar function. It is blocking some things and protecting your files, because you haven't made your new Router, your Home Network in Vista. That's the problem.
Logged
thecreator - Running a Verizon FIOS / ActionTec M1424WR-Rev1 Router into a D-Link DIR-655 Router Rev. A3, Firmware 1.21 and a D-Link DWA-552 Wireless Network PCI Adapter Card. OP Sys: Win 7 Ult. 64-Bit SP1 - DNS-323 with Firmware 1.10

ninja1234

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2011, 03:30:52 PM »

Thanks thecreator,

Can you tell me how to do what you're describing?  Sounds like something I could try quickly without resetting everything.  I'll stand by for instructions.

Thanks again.
Logged

thecreator

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 799
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2011, 09:24:40 PM »

Thanks thecreator,

Can you tell me how to do what you're describing?  Sounds like something I could try quickly without resetting everything.  I'll stand by for instructions.

Thanks again.

Hi ninja1234,

Open up Network and Sharing Center. I have Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit. I don't have Windows Vista in front of me.

Go down the list. Please remember that XP is foreign to Vista, so you need to config both Home and Public. If you have other people in your household, use Passwords. I don't need Passwords, so I don't. Up to you.

Logged
thecreator - Running a Verizon FIOS / ActionTec M1424WR-Rev1 Router into a D-Link DIR-655 Router Rev. A3, Firmware 1.21 and a D-Link DWA-552 Wireless Network PCI Adapter Card. OP Sys: Win 7 Ult. 64-Bit SP1 - DNS-323 with Firmware 1.10

ninja1234

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Please help. Can't get internet connection via ethernet port
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2011, 10:25:25 AM »

I got this fixed and, after several days, am having the same problem again.

To fix the problem, I:

Restored my desktop to a date in early January when I knew everything was working.

Recycled to power on modem.

Reset router and turned MAC filter off.

Turned it on and everything worked fine and did so for a few days.

Then, suddenly, no internet connection via ethernet port.  Wireless still works fine as does email via the ethernet port.

Any ideas?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2