• September 29, 2020, 01:40:19 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: QoS newbie questions ?  (Read 3580 times)

cooksrus

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
QoS newbie questions ?
« on: February 07, 2011, 11:33:07 AM »

I have my DIR-855 plugged into my other D-Link ADSL/router which is acting as the DHCP server.

Plugged into the DIR-855 are all other devices on the network including two D-Link gigabit ethernet switches.

So with all that in mind does the automatic QoS still apply to local network traffic if linked to the DIR-855 like a media player on the switch and the switch is plugged into the 855.

Or does the QoS only apply to internet traffic as I've noticed that if you disable WAN traffic it disables the automatic QoS engine options ?

Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49219
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS newbie questions ?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 12:06:14 PM »

QoS mostly pertains to internet traffic I believe. As QoS is set up to connect to external IP addresses and ports the go with those addresses and handle all the data interaction. Handling any traffice on the LAN side I believe isn't necessary for QoS as most LAN side networking isn't has busy and there isn't as much traffic that would need something like QoS. Theres no other major networks to go through on the LAN side network at home.

I have set up a buddies system that has the DLink DSL Modem and router and I bridged the Modem so that the connected router would do the network management since it has more options. It's recommended in cases like this to bridge the DSL Modem if they have a built in router. Specially for gaming and certain applications that need to connect to external servers correctly.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

cooksrus

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: QoS newbie questions ?
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2011, 10:50:55 AM »

Thanks for the info.

Are there any guides on how you bridge an existing DSL/router (D-Link DSL-2740) to the DIR-855 ?

I just did as the manual told me and disabled DHCP/UPnP on the DIR-855 then plugged in my DSL/router into ethernet port1 but as you say this removes a lot of the network management functionality.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49219
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS newbie questions ?
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2011, 11:25:19 AM »

I did this one a friends 2604 DSL router last year. You go into the DSLs modems web page. Select Wizard. There might a a DSL Auto Connect check box. If so, uncheck it. A Advanced button should appear. Select Next. You should see a list of options on the next page. One option should be bridging. There are 2 options I'm seeing on the 2604 model. Not sure what is on yours. I don't remember which one I used. You could try both or what ever yours shows. Select Next on all the following screens. I see there is a spot to put in LAN IP address. I don't remember doing this for Bridging mode.

I would call up your ISP and they can help you bridge the DSL modem to the 855. You will need your DSL log in information that your DSL Modem uses and this will go into the 855 Setup/Internet/Manual section. You'll be changing the DCHP assignment that the router gets from the ISP to PPPoE probably. I would call the ISP and have them help you with the bridging. Shouldn't take too long. Let us know how it goes.

One thing you can try is to put the IP address that the 855 gets from the DSL modem and put it into the DSL modems DMZ, however I would get the DSL modem bridge as this is preferred.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!