• November 28, 2014, 05:06:40 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router IP Address Problems  (Read 3836 times)

apple271

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Router IP Address Problems
« on: February 02, 2011, 08:49:44 PM »

Hi, Just recently bought the dlink 655 router when our linksys router won't work anymore. Before, we just connected the internet to the router and its easy access to the Internet via wifi from windows, macs, to iphones, cellphones, etc. Very easy!

I'm the only mac user in the house while the rest of the family are using windows. With the dlink 655, it's been problems right from the start. Connected the internet to the router and the first time, the internet worked fine until I restarted my mac and for some reason, the Internet won't work anymore. Same with my brother's laptop (Windows XP). We have to restart the router. Sometimes, my mac can connect to the internet, but my brothers won't be able to connect. Other times, I can connect and they can't. So it's hard to keep restarting the router because one of us usually ends up with no internet!

On my mac, the Internet would work but if I restart my mac or let it sleep, the IP address would be different and I won't be able to connect again. Right now, I'm currently using BootP on my mac instead of DHCP just so I can connect to the Internet. Same with the iphone's wifi settings using bootP. (Not really sure what these are but I've tried all the settings and BootP worked)

How can we setup the router that all of us can have access to the internet? Please help! I'm getting really frustrated with the router. Thanks!
Logged

robertMN

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Router IP Address Problems
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2011, 09:33:24 AM »

When I change routers from Linksys to D-link, I had to change the router's ip address because my dsl modem was using the ip address that is the default for the D-link router. 
I changed the router's ip address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.1.1.

I hope this helps.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28636
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router IP Address Problems
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2011, 09:37:55 AM »

What ISP service do you have? DSL or Cable? Is the ISP modem a stand alone modem or does it have a built in router? Its recommended to bridge the ISP modem if it's not a stand alone modem.

I recommend using Static Reserved IP address for all of your devices. Keep track of whats what and makes it easier to troubleshoot.
I recommend that you use the Primary and 2ndary DNS Ip addresses found in Status/Device Info/Wan section and verify they are being auto filled in under the Setup/Internet/Manual section.

Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you see this option.

I would set the WiFi mode to Single mode G or N. If you have devices that support both G and N then use Mixed Mode G and N only. No need to broadcast A and B if there not being used.

I set up my cousins 655 for him at last month and had my Mac Book Pro with me. Worked just fine over G mode wireless.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

apple271

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Router IP Address Problems
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2011, 05:33:51 PM »

When I change routers from Linksys to D-link, I had to change the router's ip address because my dsl modem was using the ip address that is the default for the D-link router. 
I changed the router's ip address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.1.1.

I hope this helps.

Hi robert, how did you change the router's ip address?

What ISP service do you have? DSL or Cable? Is the ISP modem a stand alone modem or does it have a built in router? Its recommended to bridge the ISP modem if it's not a stand alone modem.

I recommend using Static Reserved IP address for all of your devices. Keep track of whats what and makes it easier to troubleshoot.
I recommend that you use the Primary and 2ndary DNS Ip addresses found in Status/Device Info/Wan section and verify they are being auto filled in under the Setup/Internet/Manual section.

Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you see this option.

I would set the WiFi mode to Single mode G or N. If you have devices that support both G and N then use Mixed Mode G and N only. No need to broadcast A and B if there not being used.

I set up my cousins 655 for him at last month and had my Mac Book Pro with me. Worked just fine over G mode wireless.

FurryNutz, we use DSL and the modem is stand-alone. I returned the Dlink router to where I bought it and they fixed the settings but the connection was still the same when I connected it. I'm asking them to come over to set it up instead and I'll ask them to try what you just adviced. Sorry I'm totally clueless as to what to do! Thanks for the help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28636
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router IP Address Problems
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2011, 06:58:37 PM »

You can change the routers IP address under Basic/Network Settings. You'll see the 192.168.0.1 there. You can change the 3rd number to 1 or just about anything up to 255 if you wish. I would try 192.168.1.1 first.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting