• June 27, 2022, 05:46:03 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Jumbo Frames / MTU size?  (Read 6966 times)

kvdv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Jumbo Frames / MTU size?
« on: December 01, 2008, 09:26:24 AM »

Hi, 

I'd like to use Jumbo Frames but I cannot seem to find any official documentation about it.

Can somebody tell me the exact MTU size I can use with the DIR-855?

Thanks,
Kris
Logged

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: Jumbo Frames / MTU size?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2008, 11:44:44 AM »

The switch can handle 9k frames, however this causes issues with the NAT and the UI becomes unresponsive.

Logged

kvdv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Jumbo Frames / MTU size?
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2008, 03:33:36 AM »

So what max. MTU size is advised then, to keep all things stable and safe?
Logged

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: Jumbo Frames / MTU size?
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2008, 08:04:45 AM »

The MAX I recommend is 1500. The switch performs the best at this frame size. However if you insist on using jumbo frames 4k is acceptable.

Logged

kvdv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Jumbo Frames / MTU size?
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 01:03:35 PM »

How do I change the LAN MTU on the switch (not the WAN MTU)  ?
Logged

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: Jumbo Frames / MTU size?
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 01:16:39 PM »

It's auto-sensing.
Logged