• August 17, 2019, 07:42:06 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??  (Read 7268 times)

ZoSo925

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« on: November 28, 2008, 01:28:37 AM »

I have not purchased a DNS-323 yet and saving up money, so by the time the new firmware comes out, I should be all set.

Im really considering purchasing (2) 1TB drives and running them in RAID 0. 

Here is what Im thinking of getting

WD RE3 1TB w/ 32MB Cache

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=503

It's being listed on Newegg for $199.00

This drive is designed for RAID, but do you think this drive would be Overkill for the DNS-323 or should I get the WD1001FALS that is selling for $119?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136284
Logged

jrbilodeau

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 05:33:52 AM »

depends on what your using it for. if your thinking preformance wise, i don't think it will matter because both drive speeds surpass that of the network throughput. but if your thinking reliability and durability i'm pretty sure that the enterprise drives would be better than the regular drive made for home use.
Logged

Icey

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 07:24:18 AM »

I bought two of these;

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=336

WD Caviar Green, 1 TB, 16 MB Cache. Paid 138 dollar for each (109 euro).

Not the fastest drives available but they are very, very, quiet and low in power consumption. And still faster than the throughput of the 323. 
Logged

ZoSo925

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 09:02:27 PM »

The WD Caviar Green are selling really cheap on Newegg at the moment.

I dont really have any plans to use the WD RE3 on an actual PC, so Im leading to think those drives are a bit overkill for the DNS-323. 

I defiantly want to get drives that are 32MB cache. In the past week the WD RE3 has dropped $20 and now selling for $179.  Im guessing as it get's closer to Christmas or after the drives should be around or less then $150 each.

Tough choice but I think the positives are too good to pass up on the RE3

+ Designed for RAID

+ Runs Quieter

+ Runs Cooler
Logged

JerryatDLink

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2008, 05:49:42 PM »

I am using one WD1001FALS. Now, I believe I should really have bought the WD Caviar Green. Anyway, they are all way faster than the speed you can get from the 323 itself.
Logged

ZoSo925

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2008, 09:25:24 PM »

What dont you like about the WD1001FALS?  That was one of my choices.

I guess I spoke too soon, the RE3 just jumped in price and are now $209.99.  That's still all not that bad as I remember buying one of the first Western Digital 8GIG drives for like $250 ..heh
Logged

JerryatDLink

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2008, 12:23:53 AM »

What do I like about the WD1001FALS?

1. I like Western Digital for Hard Drive. Basically, I use almost all its product for desktop and USB external storage (My Book). Believe noisy level is one important reason I select Hard Drive, I hate noise.
2. Between this and the Caviar Green, I picked the WD1001FALS for its 32MB internal cache.
Logged

hilaireg

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 332
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2008, 07:52:35 AM »

Did you verify the D-Link support FAQ to ensure that the HDD's have been tested/certified?  If D-Link Engineering has not tested/certified the model, they will be less inclined to offer in-depth support assistance should problems occur.

That said, if you're not concerned about the support aspect then go with business (enterprise) class HDD's as these are designed to handle 24x7x365 up-time.  Consumer level HDD's are not intended to run 24x7x365 ... although many folks run them this way.

You may also want to consider purchasing a spare HDD as a "fail-over".
Logged

ZoSo925

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2008, 11:47:01 AM »

They are not listed as tested/certified, so that's why Im waiting for next firmware, Im sure they will work.

Im not worried about fail-over as all the data is already backed up on multiple locations (500GIG drive and DVD's)   Im just going to use the DNS-323 as a File Server. 
Logged

Seedillume

  • Guest
Re: Anyone using Western Digital RE3 1TB Drives ??
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2008, 02:25:28 PM »

I am using two of the 500GB RE3s (WD5002ABYS-01B1B) in RAID 0. They are fast, quiet, cool and not corrupting my data.

I am using an Athlon 64 3000+, 1GB RAM, Dlink  DGE-530T PCI Gigabit NIC, Linksys WRT310N w/DD-WRT (gigabit with no Jumbo Frames). I can read and write files @ 16.xx MB/s when testing with Intel's NASPT. FYI, I get the same results with the stock Linksys firmware.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 02:31:03 PM by Seedillume »
Logged