+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Xtreme N (Platinum Products)» DIR-655 » Can I use DIR-655 as a repeater?
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I use DIR-655 as a repeater?  (Read 6170 times)
fivetonsflax
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« on: January 29, 2011, 10:49:32 AM »

I'd like to give my DIR-655 (rev. A4, firmware 1.32) to my brother for use as a repeater, to help with the weak signal in his apartment.  But I don't see any way to configure the device to join an existing wireless network.  Am I wasting my time?

Thank you,

Ben
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27586


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2011, 11:16:09 AM »

I think the only option you can do is to bridge the router. This means you still have to connect it via ethernet cable to a switch or a router then it will broadcast a signal for you. It doesn't have any means of joining an existing wireless network wirelessly to act as a repeater. You'll need to find a device specifically that does this.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
thecreator
Level 6 Member
*
Posts: 799


« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2011, 11:18:37 AM »

I'd like to give my DIR-655 (rev. A4, firmware 1.32) to my brother for use as a repeater, to help with the weak signal in his apartment.  But I don't see any way to configure the device to join an existing wireless network.  Am I wasting my time?

Thank you,

Ben

Hi Ben,

Why not simply do a test and replace his Router with yours and not as a repeater? Would not that work?

Does he have Cable, DSL or FIOS?
Logged

thecreator - Running a Verizon FIOS / ActionTec M1424WR-Rev1 Router into a D-Link DIR-655 Router Rev. A3, Firmware 1.21 and a D-Link DWA-552 Wireless Network PCI Adapter Card. OP Sys: Win 7 Ult. 64-Bit SP1 - DNS-323 with Firmware 1.10
fivetonsflax
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2011, 12:11:09 PM »

He has (authorized) access to his landlord's wifi, which is based in another building.  So he has to sit by his window, or he loses signal.  I do not know how his landlord connects to the internet.

I thought of offering to replace the landlord's wifi router with the DIR-655, but I don't want to take on tech support responsibility for some guy I don't know ... and of course there's no guarantee that it would actually help.
Logged
davevt31
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1251



« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2011, 02:04:36 PM »

Have your brother get one of those cantennas and he can aim it around to get a better signal.
Logged

fivetonsflax
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2011, 05:16:21 PM »

How about third-party firmware? (I understand this might void my warranty, and that is OK with me.) Is anyone using DD-WRT, Tomato, etc. on this device?
Logged
Cobra
Level 4 Member
****
Posts: 477



« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2011, 06:10:40 PM »

How about third-party firmware? (I understand this might void my warranty, and that is OK with me.) Is anyone using DD-WRT, Tomato, etc. on this device?

No

If you want a repeater go buy a WNDR3700
Logged
fivetonsflax
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2011, 07:15:11 PM »

The idea was to find a use for hardware I already have.  I took the DIR-655 out of service because I went to the 5GHz band.

I think I'll ask my neighbor for my WRT54GL back, give him the DIR-655 in trade, put DD-WRT on the WRT54GL, and give that to my brother.

Thanks to all for your advice.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.