+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Wireless N150 / N300» DIR-615» Network not detected
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Network not detected  (Read 2690 times)
ultramorsa
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: January 21, 2011, 04:30:09 PM »

Hello !

I have a home network installed. The network is currently configured on WPA and it is correctly working for several devices ( HP laptop, Lenovo laptop, iPhone ) The router is connected ( wired ) to the router and a Desktop.

Although for this ONE laptop, the network does not appear available ( not even displayed as in range ) . This is an Acer Aspire 5517.

I have used this Acer with another DLink DIR 615 and it works correctly.

Any ideas ?
Thanks for your help
Logged
Hard Harry
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1319



« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 08:02:34 PM »

Probably the wireless mode. Do you have it set to G, N, or G+N? Also, what is the Acer capable of?
Logged
Skello
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 142


« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2011, 01:50:28 AM »

When your own d-link wireless connection can't be detected, are any other wireless connections being picked up by the Acer laptop? Like the ones from your neighbors (if there are any)?
Logged
ultramorsa
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2011, 06:08:12 AM »

Hello 

@Hard Harry : TBH i dont know what mode it is. But I know that I ve been able to log to a different network ( same router model ) with the same Laptop - Thats what makes me think it's network and not hardware

@Skello : Yes , exactly ! I can see all the neighbors wireless connections, all but mine.

Thanks for your help,
Logged
Hard Harry
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1319



« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2011, 07:21:40 AM »

Well you kind of need to find out, heh.
Click here user should be admin and password blank unless your changed it from the default. Then click on Wireless Setting on left, and click on Manual Wireless Connection Setup. That should tell you. Take note of the other settings while your in there just in case. And write them down with your SSID and wireless passphrase. Those are all good things to know about your network,
Logged
Heliohem
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2011, 07:13:14 AM »

When that happened to me I had to plug the router into the laptop and then reset each one modem, router and laptop and then it connected. But now my problem is back and that isnt working
Logged
cozappz
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2011, 10:25:47 AM »

It seems the DIR-615 have a problem with the G and B mode when configured for the n/g/b mixed mode.
I have the same problem with a D3 version, the 4.12 firmware:
the G clients work very well when the mixed g/b mode is selected, but as soon as I change the mode to n/g/b mixed mode, the G/B clients cannot see the network.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2011, 10:56:48 AM »

Does your router have Mixed G and N only mode?

How about if you temp disable security on Mixed B/G and N, does the G and B devices see the connection?

Do you have any devices using B mode?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
billy_kidd
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 44


« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2011, 05:02:50 PM »

There is a bug in the 615 C3, at least, and I never quite tracked it down.  You can prove this to yourself by resetting the 615 to factory defaults, then see if it works.  Selectively configure each configuration change one at a time, like adding wireless security, etc.  I suspected it might be remote administration that messed mine up; but had to reconfigure remotely and just didn't have time to mess with it after I got it working.  I used remote desktop to reconfigure it, not remote administration.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.