• July 04, 2020, 06:18:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323  (Read 5965 times)

DufferDan

  • Guest
PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323
« on: June 02, 2008, 03:05:09 PM »

Yesterday, I upgraded the firmware to 1.05. While prior to this, my PS3 could play saved videos residing on the DNS 323 for a tiime after upgrading to the 1.04 firmware, then a few weeks later, the PS3 claimed the files were corrupt  and refused to play the files. However Quicktime could read and play the files with no problem on my Mac Pro tower.

NOW, with the upgrade of the DNS 323 firmware to 1.05, the PS3 sees absolutely nothing beyond the Share folder on the 323. It does not recognise my videos or audio files (mp3 and AAC).

The PS3 also fails to see any photos I have loadd on the DNS, which it played just fine not  a week ago.

The other issue I have is that recently, my Roku Soundbridge, which for a short period could see all my music on the DNS 323, developed selective blindness and could only see a portion of my library for the last two weeks. Then, the Roku failed to play any files whatsoever (it fails to load the songlists/browse data). Now, I haven't had a chance to check the Roku out since the 1.05 firmware upgrade, so I will add to this later.

It looks to me like there has been  a steady deterioration in the DNS 323 functionality over the past month or so. 

Any ideas on a fix? Is there a way to wipe the DNS clean and start over, reloading video and audio files?
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2008, 04:11:40 PM »

I have not seen this issue it should work fine with your PS3. If you would like to wipe it clean please log into the DNS-323 config and goto Tools then under RAID you can re-format your drives.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

Junkyboy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2008, 10:18:23 PM »

I thought it was understood that the ps3 stopped working with the latest firmware? hm. My files are 100% fine (I play them on various machines including a DSM-320) but the PS3 gets errors when it tries to scan the 323. Mediatomb works fine.

Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2008, 01:29:18 PM »

Junkyboy

Was it the last firmware for the DNS-323 or PS3 that it stopped working with?


DufferDan

Are you able to load 1.04 back to the DNS-323 and get ot back working?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

itz420

  • Guest
Re: PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2008, 08:30:14 AM »

You can also try Winamp remote which works with firmware ver 1.05
Logged

Ethereal_Dragon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • DNS-323 Wiki
Re: PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2008, 12:21:20 AM »

I would like to say that with 1.04 firmware, my PS3 and DNS-323 couldn't talk at all.... Running TwonkyVision on the 323 solved that, but it was a bit clunky...

BOOM! Installed 1.05 a few days ago, didn't yet get around to putting TwonkyVision on the 323, and the uPNP server on the 323 is playing nice with my PS3.

THANKS D-LINK!!!
Logged
Gaming Rig: Shuttle SN25P, AMD 64 3500+, Corsiar TWINX2048-3200PRO,
HIS Radeon x1950XT, Seagate 7200.8 ST3300831AS 300GB, Plextor PX-712SA/SW-BL

The NAS Box: D-Link DNS-323 & 2x Seagate 7200.10 ST3500630AS 500GB - No RAID
http://wiki.dns323.inf

Junkyboy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: PS3 now can't see any files on DNS 323
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2008, 06:30:16 PM »

I decided to give it another shot and I seem to have figured it out. It appears that if you share the root and there are inaccessable files or dir present, the media list fails to generate (this was an old bug). In my case it appears the BT directory is the cause. As I've noticed in several other posts on the forum, you cant just change the permissions of the BT dir, so I'll have to either create a subdir and move files I want to share into it or do the 1.04 downgrade to uninstall the BT dir/app. Maybe its for the best if we can simply have the ability to chmod or chown dirs through the web interface? Seems silly to ask for the ability to modify permissions of files on a NAS drive we own. Hmm, maybe I will install telnet access after all.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2008, 09:45:18 PM by Junkyboy »
Logged