• November 22, 2019, 11:49:57 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive  (Read 4247 times)

Milton187

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive
« on: April 27, 2008, 08:14:14 AM »

I have 2 500 gig hd's installed as JBOD.
They used to be listed as "Volume 1" and "Volume 2".

After power failure, I have only the "Volume 1" listed.  It does not "see" the 2nd drive.
The 2nd drive light is blue and blinking constantly.

Am I screwed? 

Thanks,

Milton
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 08:47:55 AM by Milton187 »
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2008, 01:59:58 PM »

Are you screwed?  Looks that way - especially if you didn't have a backup.

First - I don't think it's possible to have two drives installed as JBOD on a DNS-323 and still have it show them as Volume_1 and Volume_2 - I know you can do with that with standard volumes, and with RAID, both 0 & 1, but I don't think it's possible with JBOD.

By the way - there are different definitions for JBOD and I'm using it as implemented on the DNS-323 - it spans the physical drive to form a large logical drive.

If you were configured JBOD there is a pretty good chance your data is gone, so think about investing in a UPS, and then reformat the disks, I suggest you not use RAID0 or JBOD, avoid RAID1 unless you know why you need to have it, and start over.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

Milton187

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2008, 05:52:54 PM »

Drag!

I'm not sure about the JBOD. I do know they did show up as "volume 1 and volume 2". Is there any way to recover data from the drive?  Can I reformat just the 2nd drive (non working) and not the First? (working drive)
Third party software?

Milton
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 05:58:04 PM by Milton187 »
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2008, 05:34:32 AM »

Deciding the best course of action without knowing the original disk configuration is taking a chance.

The following is predicated on the "failed" drive not actually being defective - it might be, in which case your only option would be to replace and reformat.

Here's what I would do - first - if you can read any of the data, back it up.

Next pull the "failed" drive - can you read the data on the remaining drive?
Install the "failed" drive in a PC, either one running linux, or Windows with ext2IFS and attempt to get the data off.
If possible, remove the disk partitions from the "failed" drive, reinstall and reformat.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

Milton187

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2008, 05:56:54 AM »

O.K. Thanks for the reply. I will download ext2ifs.

I received and email from techsupport which instructed me to reset the unit
from the back.  The 2nd drive is now visible from the web page but not from
"map network drive".  It is still working so I will wait and see.
I will post my results.

Milt
Logged

Milton187

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2008, 09:53:55 AM »

Well, after reset the drive light no longer blinks.

The drive still is not visible from the "map network drive".
It IS visible from the web interface under "status".

I cannot map the drive! Any suggestions?

Milton
Logged

Milton187

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: After Power Failure I lose 2nd drive
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2008, 10:48:58 AM »

Problem solved!  (Thanks Richard Dlink tech support)

I was instructed to "reset" the unit again, then power off/on.

Boom! I can map my drives!

Milton
Logged