• August 09, 2020, 10:47:29 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Author Topic: Best firmware  (Read 37645 times)

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #30 on: November 01, 2010, 04:09:50 PM »

That is really good news. Set it up and test it, do not add my rules right out of the box. You might want to test it out first see how it goes than add me rule and see if it did any improvements. Now I can officially welcome you to the forums! Congrats on your new DGL 4500!

--
Chris

Thanks alot! Question, I opened it up and it said on a orange sticker that insert cd and run wizard first. Do I need to have the router all hooked up or does that mean run the wizard with my current router?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #31 on: November 01, 2010, 04:40:39 PM »

Thats only if you use the Share port. Just connect it and log in to the routers web page at 192.168.0.1 in a browser. The CD is not needed.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #32 on: November 01, 2010, 04:51:12 PM »

oh, Well I already did the cd :p I didnt know..better safe than sorry
Logged

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #33 on: November 01, 2010, 05:01:17 PM »

Im confused..I hooked it up, Did the install did not change one thing so far..I go from 16mbps on a speedtest on my old router to 1.89mbps download and my upload is 0.89.. It may be my internet being stupid again since they have yet to fix it. Is there anything special in the menu on the router I should change ?
Logged

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #34 on: November 01, 2010, 05:06:45 PM »

Quick update, Im sure it was cause of gamefuel being active. I disabled it and it seems to be running faster for the net.  Could that be the problem?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #35 on: November 01, 2010, 05:14:20 PM »

Something isn't setup right in gamefuel if your seeing a change after you turn it off. Make sure the Primary and 2ndary DNS IP addresses are filled in the Basic/Internet/Manual. DNS relay should be on.

I would run thru the gaming fuel sticky and for now, disregard the gaming and game fuel. Make sure you have static IPs on everything. Do some testing. If you see good speeds then go back and enable the game fuel and just add one Play station. Again, don't any any other devices like PCs, there not needed in gamefuel, just the PS devices. What FW is currently loaded right now on the 4500?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #36 on: November 01, 2010, 05:20:09 PM »

Something isn't setup right in gamefuel if your seeing a change after you turn it off. Make sure the Primary and 2ndary DNS IP addresses are filled in the Basic/Internet/Manual. DNS relay should be on.

I would run thru the gaming fuel sticky and for now, disregard the gaming and game fuel. Make sure you have static IPs on everything. Do some testing. If you see good speeds then go back and enable the game fuel and just add one Play station. Again, don't any any other devices like PCs, there not needed in gamefuel, just the PS devices. What FW is currently loaded right now on the 4500?

Right now its Saturday, January 31, 2004 11:07:11 AM

Firmware Version : 1.21NA,  2009/07/09 

that same up on the login page
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #37 on: November 01, 2010, 05:43:09 PM »

Ok, v1.21 did have issues on random hangs and disconnects for some people. V1.22 fixed all this. There hasn't been anything regarding FW for gamefuel itself that I know of. Mostly been other things. Let us know how it goes with static IPs and setting up one game console. Remember, just add the game console to the game fuel rule, don't add the PC.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #38 on: November 01, 2010, 05:46:33 PM »

I did that, I get super good speeds while downloading on the pc. I turn it over to ps3 and the download speeds, And internet connection test only gives it a 2.0mbps
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #39 on: November 01, 2010, 05:51:31 PM »

The speed on the console with or with out game fuel on?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #40 on: November 01, 2010, 05:53:36 PM »

With gamefuel on the ps3 gets 4.0mbps and 805k upload. Ill check what it is with it turned off

EDIT with it turned off I only get 2.3mbps..Still on a 20mbps connection youd think I would get more. The cable company still has to come out and check their lines though. That could be the problem
« Last Edit: November 01, 2010, 05:56:39 PM by Truukk »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #41 on: November 01, 2010, 05:58:28 PM »

ok, feel that this could be a configuration issue with game fuel and or the PS console. We not that your PC is fine so I feel the router is ok as well, just something in configuration. I presume the console is hard wired? Whats the condition of the cable and what is the distance of the wired cable going to the console?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #42 on: November 01, 2010, 06:03:48 PM »

ok, feel that this could be a configuration issue with game fuel and or the PS console. We not that your PC is fine so I feel the router is ok as well, just something in configuration. I presume the console is hard wired? Whats the condition of the cable and what is the distance of the wired cable going to the console?


It may not be, I have it all disabled right now. And on my pc I was getting over 1.5meg a sec earlier and its dropped down to 400k right now. Also every single cable is brand new I bought them saturday, The cable to the console is I think a 5foot cable its not long at all since its right next to my computer desk
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #43 on: November 01, 2010, 06:06:06 PM »

so your seeing fluctuations in speed the PC as well? What does speedtest.net say your running at and what should you be running at? Can you test both with and with out the 4500? Also save off your 4500 config to file and after you try with and with out, I'd like you to try doing a full factory reset of the 4500, then do speedtest again with it online from the PC.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #44 on: November 01, 2010, 06:10:19 PM »

so your seeing fluctuations in speed the PC as well? What does speedtest.net say your running at and what should you be running at? Can you test both with and with out the 4500? Also save off your 4500 config to file and after you try with and with out, I'd like you to try doing a full factory reset of the 4500, then do speedtest again with it online from the PC.


With the 4500




WITHOUT the 4500


Not much a difference. The cable guy ive been speaking to said its having trouble stay in sync with the CTMS, Also im suppose to be around 20mbps by the way
« Last Edit: November 01, 2010, 06:12:16 PM by Truukk »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6