• August 09, 2020, 10:48:24 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: Best firmware  (Read 37646 times)

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Best firmware
« on: October 31, 2010, 10:56:21 AM »

Im getting my DGL-4500 in the mail tomorrow, Id like to know what is the most stable firmware version to use while hardwired, Wont be using wireless. Sorry if its been posted already . Thanks :]
Logged

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2010, 11:38:13 AM »

Just use the one it comes pre set with, If you encounter any issues just let us know and we will help you resolve those issues. I am currently using the latest firmware and it works perfect. I never really had any issues with the DGL 4500. Have a great day Cya

--
Chris
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2010, 11:42:46 AM »

Ok thank you :] . Ill let yall know how it goes when I get it hooked up
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2010, 12:16:50 PM »

FYI,
If it works don't fix it!!!  ;D

Hope it works well, check out the gaming and gamefuel sticky for some set up options to use. They work will, tried and tested. Let use know if you have any questions. Here to help out.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2010, 12:26:55 PM »

I read the 2 ps3 thread..Im not really getting it, Im guessing just the way it was typed out and the pics that throw me off. Thats what ill be doing, I have 2 ps3's Which mine will be hardwired. and my brothers will be wireless. And both pcs will be hardwired. The router I got now works fine with both online at the same time..If I dont see any difference in it without game fuel and stuff I just wont touch it
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2010, 12:34:34 PM »

Kewl, well, please definately ask questions about gamefuel and such on here man. It should work out of the box however some of the features of the 4500 are not enabled by default out of the box so you wont get any benfit until you enable and configure them. We'll help you if you need to get them going. You can review the gaming and gamefuel sticky for some information that I put together about xbox, however these rules can be used for PS's as the only thing that I think you have to do is make sure the ports being used are the PS ports they provide. All the other information in the sticky pertains to general use and set up. The reason I used Xbox is that I don't game on PS.  ::) Get a hold of LookInToMyEyes as he's help others get there PS's going. It's not hard. Be sure to try G mode only @ 2.4Ghz for wireless. This provides the best signal for wireless gamers. Let us know how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2010, 12:37:16 PM »

Ok thank you sir, Ill update this thread when I get hooked up :]
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2010, 12:43:39 PM »

Oh wanted to ask you, what ISP service do you have? DSL or cable? IF DSL, and the modem as an internal router, have the ISP bridge the modem to the 4500 router, you'll see issues connecting to game servers has having 2 routers on the same line inhibits proper connections. Cable modems don't have this generally. One the DSL is bridge, it will be just like a modem only and you should be good to go. See this and dealt with this before.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2010, 12:46:32 PM »

I have cable with mediacom cable internet 20mbps down. and I have a rca DCM42 cable modem they gave me
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2010, 12:56:51 PM »

I might recommend getting the Motorola SB 6120 modem if your ISP supports DOCSIS 3.0. Mine just started supporting it and was able to get it online. This is the best stand alone cable modem. Generally ISP only give a generic or sub standard modem. Most ISP don't mind uses having there own. This also negates some rental fees ISP have for there modems.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2010, 12:59:48 PM »

77 bucks on amazon not bad at all got good reviews also. I will call them in the morning and see if they support that modem
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2010, 01:45:04 PM »

I got mine at Radio Shack...I wanted the ability to take it back if it didn't work..so I spent the $100 for it in town. Hope they support it...Seems to make a good match with the 4500. Let us know how it all goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Truukk

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2010, 02:34:23 PM »

Just an update, I talked to a bud of mine at mediacom, He said " As for the SB6120, unfortunately these modems currently have a known issue with our services. Please note, however, that the primary benefit of the modem would go unused at 20mbps or lower speeds (no connecting to multiple downstreams)."
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2010, 03:15:41 PM »

Thats a shame, well, give what you have a try, if not you could get a lower end Motorola modem that would work on there system.  :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Trikein

  • Guest
Re: Best firmware
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2010, 04:15:00 PM »

Just an update, I talked to a bud of mine at mediacom, He said " As for the SB6120, unfortunately these modems currently have a known issue with our services. Please note, however, that the primary benefit of the modem would go unused at 20mbps or lower speeds (no connecting to multiple downstreams)."

While there could be a issue with your certian ISP, I don't see how having a QoS cap under 20Mb would effect it. You don't channel bond based on use, you channel bond if your ISP has support for it in your area. Its like 3G on your Cell. You don't swap to 3G when you download something big, your phone auto connects at that speed if its available in the area when you turn your phone on. Just FYI.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6