Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help needed setting up DLinkDDNS or no-IP hostname peer blocker  (Read 11077 times)
optical10
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 22


« on: October 29, 2010, 01:44:01 PM »

I have a Linksys router plus a D-Link DNS-323 NAS. I'm using the dlink NAS built-in BitTorrent client for efficiency and running costs savings which I have been happy with for many months but having read a recent article in lifehacker.com I now aware that my IP address could be visible to everybody so i want to sort that security hole with what the article called a peer blocker but i'm confused.

first I was going the DLink add-on no-ip.com route but i'm not sure how!

#1. Do I get the Linksys router to handle the DDNS OR SHOULD THE DLINK NAS do it or both?

#2. when setting up the hostname account on the D-Link ddNS.com  I'm asked to input a new IP address but where do I get the new IP address from?

#3. on the Linksys I'm only given the DDNS option of DYNDNS.ORG (which coincidentally I can see my dlink DDNS set up as an option) or tyz.com does this mean I cannot use the no-IP.com as a service, if in fact I do need the Linksys router in the loop?


ANY HELP APPRECIATED

Logged

DNS 2 x Seagate 750 GB HD's non-raid non-jumbo
Virgin Super Hub Router (Netgear CG 3101D)
TCP Link  8 port gigabit  Switch

WIRED
Notebook Realtek PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
Desktop Dual Realtek PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
WIRELESS
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Android Tablets (802.11bgn
Buhric
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 191


« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2010, 01:58:29 PM »

... well I think your missing something.....

DYNDNS, NO-IP, TYZ
they are just DNS servers, they will maps your IP address to a "name"

so instead of accessing "24.124.30.41", you would enter "Myname.dyndns.org" and that would be redirected to the corresponding IP....

So when the DNS-323 would connect to a tracker... it will still send the IP address... the fact that you use a DDNS provider will not change that....

DDNS are great when your public IP address (the one your ISP gives you) is dynamic, and you need to access a server on your network (like FTP or HTTP),
So in those cases we let the router or DNS-323 update the public IP address on the DDNS, a
and we do not have to care what is our current public IP address...

Has for which device get to handle the DDNS, I alway prefer the router...
Logged
jamieburchell
Level 6 Member
*
Posts: 947


« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2010, 02:05:13 PM »

DDNS services allow you to resolve an internet host name to an IP address. This is useful if your ISP assigns you a dynamic public IP address and you do not necessarily know what it is. When the service is activated and associated with an account, it will automatically update your account record IP address so that the host name you chose always resolves to the correct IP. I use the service on my router so that I can access my assigned external IP address remotely, without knowing what the IP address is.

I'm using dyndns but you can use no-ip if you want, by installing the no-ip package on your NAS.

I'm not sure how this is going to help you "cloak" your external IP address nor why it is a security risk in the first place if your firewall is setup correctly.
Logged

If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!
optical10
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2010, 04:38:39 PM »

@jamieburchell and @Buhric

okay I think that I have not explained myself properly. if you would be so kind as to look at this particular article, sub-section "Block Peers that Might be Snooping"
http://lifehacker.com/286607/intermediate-guide-to-bittorrent?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+lifehacker%2Ffull+%28Lifehacker%29

instead of using peer blocker (previously known as peer Guardian 2) which doesn't have a NAS client my research led me to No-IP add-on for D-Link DNS-323.
 but I do not know how to configure it with my newly created No-IP .com hostname and trying to create or the hostname at dlinkdynddns.com?

thanks to your help so far
« Last Edit: October 29, 2010, 04:41:11 PM by optical10 » Logged

DNS 2 x Seagate 750 GB HD's non-raid non-jumbo
Virgin Super Hub Router (Netgear CG 3101D)
TCP Link  8 port gigabit  Switch

WIRED
Notebook Realtek PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
Desktop Dual Realtek PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
WIRELESS
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Android Tablets (802.11bgn
jamieburchell
Level 6 Member
*
Posts: 947


« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2010, 05:01:14 PM »

I still don't see how a dynamic DNS service can help you here, based on the above reasoning. Your newly created host name will simply point to your external ISP assigned address when configured to do so. It doesn't mask your presence on the internet. Read further about VPNs and proxy servers- that sounds more like the tools you will need.

Of course, you could always just buy the content you are illegally downloading Smiley

By the way, I see Transmission mentioned in that article. You can install that on the NAS using third party software if you prefer. There's lots of info online about how.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2010, 05:11:06 PM by jamieburchell » Logged

If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!
optical10
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2010, 05:33:49 PM »

okay thanks for your reply, have to give it some thought about a VPN scenario.
by the way, not all BitTorrent software is of the illegal variety and having my fingers burnt with major purchases like acronis true image that sucked big time, I like to try before I buy nowadays :-)
Logged

DNS 2 x Seagate 750 GB HD's non-raid non-jumbo
Virgin Super Hub Router (Netgear CG 3101D)
TCP Link  8 port gigabit  Switch

WIRED
Notebook Realtek PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
Desktop Dual Realtek PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
WIRELESS
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Android Tablets (802.11bgn
gunrunnerjohn
Level 11 Member
*
Posts: 2717


« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2010, 05:28:35 AM »

I'd venture the guess that 99.999% the P2P software downloaded by folks trying hard to remain anonymous is probably illegal. Cheesy
Logged

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.
Buhric
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 191


« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2010, 01:42:00 PM »

are there actualy ways to remain "anonymous" in P2P ? I don't think so...

The point of P2P it to send information beftween 2 computers direcly, ence the "Point 2 Point"
and in order for that to be possible, each computer needs to know the public IP of the other...

The only "good" defence is a good firewall and good rules.
Also encrypting the traffic is a good thing, if you do not want other to know what you are downloading...
Logged
jamieburchell
Level 6 Member
*
Posts: 947


« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2010, 03:08:42 PM »

Encryption could also mean ISPs can't throttle the downloads.
Logged

If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!
gunrunnerjohn
Level 11 Member
*
Posts: 2717


« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2010, 05:12:24 PM »

are there actualy ways to remain "anonymous" in P2P ? I don't think so...
Well, actually that's not correct...

https://torrentprivacy.com/
Logged

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.
Buhric
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 191


« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2010, 05:54:30 PM »

ok grj, you win.... but still you have a VPN connection to their server, and theres server is connected to P2P networks, their IP are visible to P2P...

they are acting like a proxy for you.... then they (torrentprivacy) still have your public IP....
Your ISP might not be able to track what you are doing directly, because of the middle man...
Logged
gunrunnerjohn
Level 11 Member
*
Posts: 2717


« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2010, 06:03:19 PM »

Obviously, someone has to have an actual IP address.  However, if as they say, they don't retain any logs of the connections, that's where the buck stops.

If you're contention is that you want to remain anonymous at all times from everyone else, then you're right.  Given the structure of Internet connections, that's clearly possible.  However, this is a practical solution, obviously one that costs you money.
Logged

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.