• October 19, 2019, 02:56:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!  (Read 5217 times)

soamz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • CEO at QubeSys
    • Joomla and Magento Services
[QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« on: August 29, 2010, 01:06:47 AM »

Hi..
Im an unsatisfied user of DIR-615. I dont know, what Im doing wrong, but my previoys Netgear WGR614 worked even.

Well here is the problem.

I have a 4 storey building. My office is on the ground floor and my residence on the 4th floor, top.
The whole internet and broadband setup is done in the office.
Earlier, I was using NetGear WGR614 , and it worked fine, when I used to goto the top 4th floor and work in my bedroom, keeping the router and modem on 24x7 in the ground office room.
But the strength was low, around 2 bars , instead of the 4 bars.
Then I read somewhere, if we get the N router , then it can expand the 100% signal strength to around 200-500 metres area up down horizontal vertical, whatevr place.

So, I just went to the market and bought a DIR-615 after reading a lot about it.

But alas, after getting that, Im not able to even get the Wifi Signal out of that office room.

Its so frustrating.

In my wireless setup, I have set it up as G B and N , but still as soon as I go out of that room, the signal is gone and it says,no wireless networks on the iPhone.

I need it to reach 100% signal till my 4th floor bedroom.

So, what Am I missing ?

I need this sorted..
Logged

soamz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • CEO at QubeSys
    • Joomla and Magento Services
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2010, 01:13:52 AM »

Im on a 8mbps broadband plan, so thats a super fast one.

The router is the culprit here.  ??? ???
Logged

carbonic

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2010, 11:40:06 AM »

So basically you bought the router because you wanted a larger range of your WiFi. Then found out that the router actually had a shorter range and you are asking us how you can fix it?
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2010, 06:56:10 AM »

Where is the router physically located?  Do you have the ability to place the router somewhere between the ground and 4th floor to cut the distance between both locations?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

genesis

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2010, 11:18:23 AM »

the DIR-615 is good for about 1,000 sqft, which is not much. I have mine working fine everywhere, but if you have thick walls, that would reduce the signal. Anyway, for the wifi part, it took me a minute to figure it out. On my DIR-615 (B), there is a litte button on the side with the arrows (forming a circle). To activate the wifi part, you need to push it then connect your wifi product (I have a nook). The nook would not find the network until I did that which transformed the DIR-615 into a wifi "hotspot".

So range wise, don't expect the DIR-615 to do miracles, it is the baby router ;) but it works well for me. I have a 1600 sqft, and have no problem. Also, you need to make sure your adapter is set properly on your computer to take advantage of the wireless N (see sticky note).
Logged

soamz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • CEO at QubeSys
    • Joomla and Magento Services
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2010, 07:37:35 AM »

Hi..

The router is placed on the ground floor and Im trying it on 4th floor.
The type is set to B G and N now.
But still as soon as I go out of this room , there is no signals.

And why its a bad one ?
If its a bad one, then why it has been given a N name ? Damn..
Logged

genesis

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2010, 05:51:16 AM »

The DIR-615 is not a bad router. I had mine for more than a year and have not experience problems. However, the range will be influenced by any walls, floors, and other obstacle in the way. I have mine setup in the living room right now and, after three walls, you do loose quite a bit of strenght in the signal.

It sounds like you need a more powerfull router, the dir-615 will not cut it for your needs.

Another thing you can do to improve the signal would be to replace the stock antenas by bigger ones. The stock are 2dbi, I put 7dbi on it and it did improve the range and strenght signal. It should be noted that antenas cannot be removed on some of the DIR-615. Mine is a B2 and it worked.
Logged

TheNetMan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2010, 12:02:32 PM »

Asking for reliable 4th floor coverage from a ground floor WiFi router is stretching it for sure. The smart thing to do here is either locate router to a higher floor that is more central in coverage area desired or install a wireless repeater on third or fourth floor. You might also do a scan of the band and check for interference from other nodes that is limiting your range and try to change channels to find open space. That all being said, I would personally move router off ground floor if it was my setup.
Logged

genesis

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: [QUESTION] Need an Urgent Help on WI-FI!
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2010, 07:25:38 AM »

I agree with you, you can imagine the antenas as the center of two spheres. If you setup your router more centered in the building, lets say second floor, you should get the coverage you are looking for. Right now, the 4th floor would be located way out from the top of the sphere... so no or low connection. I had to mess around to find the right location, and the center of the house was the best place ;)
Logged