• October 25, 2020, 02:31:35 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DNS323 and win 7 N  (Read 6949 times)

Lobben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
DNS323 and win 7 N
« on: August 06, 2010, 02:05:13 AM »

Hi

Maybe it is the same issue being announced in earlier posts.

I have a strange issue with my nas. I can't access it with one of my computers running Windows 7 N (x86). Computers running win7 Enterprise (x64), Linux ubuntu (x64), mac OS, have no trouble connecting to the nas. I've read and tried a hole lot of tweaks according to this forum. But nothing helps.

What should I do?
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 05:06:53 AM »

What is the exact indications?  I have a laptop with Windows 7 Home 64-bit, and it has no problem accessing the DNS-323.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Lobben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 06:18:29 AM »

The indications is like i don't get any connection to the nas. Like it don't exist. As I mentioned I can connect with several other computers.

- One computer running win7 ent x64
- One laptop (my work computer who is joined to a domain) win 7 ent x64
- One Linux computer running Ubuntu (latest) x64
- One laptop with macOS (some version)

Edit: and my Ps3 as well ;)
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 06:20:26 AM by Lobben »
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2010, 06:22:24 AM »

Are you saying you can't see it when you open Networks on that machine?  Do you see the other machines on the network?
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Lobben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2010, 07:03:20 AM »

Yes and yes
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2010, 07:27:09 AM »

Can you ping the DNS-323 by name or by IP address?  Try both ways.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Lobben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2010, 07:36:34 AM »

Not with the non working computer.
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2010, 07:52:04 AM »

Is the "non working" computer on the same subnet as the DNS-323?
Do you have any firewall enabled on the "non working" computer?
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2010, 07:56:01 AM »

Let's see an IPCONFIG /ALL from the non-working computer and one of the working computers.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Lobben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2010, 08:07:54 AM »

Yes it's the same sub net. I've tried with the firewall completely on and off.

I've even tried with the local policy setting as well (don't recall exactly what it was called).
Logged

anders_g

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2010, 09:43:05 AM »

You use the same "workgroup" name?
Logged

Lobben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2010, 11:20:17 AM »

But of course not... Think I mentioned that in one of my earlier posts.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2010, 11:42:31 AM »

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

Note that there is a space before the -n or the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the - or / in the following commands.

NBTSTAT    -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Lobben

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2010, 12:18:12 PM »

That info doesn't say anything. What do you want to know (exactly)? All my computers are at the same subnet. Both wireless and wired. And of course the NAS.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS323 and win 7 N
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2010, 12:30:39 PM »

Never mind.  ::)
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.
Pages: [1] 2