• February 26, 2020, 11:46:57 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging  (Read 39666 times)

fishe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging
« on: July 02, 2010, 02:32:28 PM »

I am trying to configure a DAP-2553 with two SSIDs.  I want to tag the 2nd SSID (called Guest) with VLAN ID 2, but for some reason, when I create the 2nd VLAN ID, in the MSSID sections, the tag section is all grayed out.  I have not managed to find any detailed documentation.  Anyone knows how I can enable this?
Logged

Fatman

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1675
Re: Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 03:52:39 PM »

Do you have VLANs themselves enabled?

Do you have asymmetric VLANs enabled?
Logged
non progredi est regredi

fishe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 10:25:07 PM »

Thank you for your reply.  VLANs are enabled, however I do not know where to enable asymettric VLANs (can't see the option).
Logged

gloomrider

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2010, 10:01:21 AM »

Do you have VLANs themselves enabled?

Do you have asymmetric VLANs enabled?

I have an identical problem.  I have a tagged VLAN (in addition to the default, untagged VLAN) enabled on the switch port the DAP-2553 is connected to.  There seems to be no way to "ungrey" the "tagged" selection for the alternate SSIDs.  The documentation that comes with the DAP-2553 is woefully inadequate in explaining how to set up alternate SSIDs on tagged VLANS.  Please provide as much specificity as possible.

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 10:03:35 AM by gloomrider »
Logged

gloomrider

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2010, 03:43:30 PM »

Forgive me for answering my own post.  Dlink did document this, it's just a little hard to find.

Here's the article:

http://www.dlink.com/support/faqDetail/?prod_id=3498

The inability to "ungrey" the tagged VLAN radio buttons is a red herring, it would seem.  Following these directions, I was able to get SSID1 packets onto a VLAN.
Logged

renjingkk999

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2014, 09:08:53 AM »

It's normal. First, each ssid, you can consider it as interface like ethernet. The DAP support vlan, and all the ssid work in hybird mode, and the lan interface works in trunk mode. Normally the hybird mode interface can tag or untag vlan (different from access mode), but consider all the ssid will only connect to client instead of another L2/L3 switch, so all the frame sent to client should clean the vlan tag or else the client can't understand the frame. That's why dlink ungred the tag, no reason a radio interface should link to a swith, it's always the lan interface links to a switch, so you see the lan interface you can tag or untag.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48389
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple SSID and VLAN tagging
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2014, 09:10:26 AM »

Thanks for sharing and posting...we presume this user has moved on since it's been 4 years....
Thanks for the feed back though.

It's normal. First, each ssid, you can consider it as interface like ethernet. The DAP support vlan, and all the ssid work in hybird mode, and the lan interface works in trunk mode. Normally the hybird mode interface can tag or untag vlan (different from access mode), but consider all the ssid will only connect to client instead of another L2/L3 switch, so all the frame sent to client should clean the vlan tag or else the client can't understand the frame. That's why dlink ungred the tag, no reason a radio interface should link to a swith, it's always the lan interface links to a switch, so you see the lan interface you can tag or untag.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!