• March 01, 2021, 05:05:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Print Server NOT working  (Read 5640 times)

mirceani

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Print Server NOT working
« on: February 25, 2008, 10:54:57 AM »

after upgraded to firmware 1.04

Was OK with previous version (1.03)

Please help


Thank you
Logged

Mlachake

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2008, 02:43:52 PM »

Try deleting and adding the printer afresh. Let me know if that solved the problem.
Logged

mirceani

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2008, 03:21:49 PM »

I tried that
It does NOT solve the problem
Logged

mig

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2008, 05:07:32 PM »

Are you using a using a DHCP or static IP for you DNS-323?
There were reports of problems related to Domain Name
Resolution on winXP/Vista.  Adding the name of your DNS-323
to the windows "hosts" file, seemed to help, IF... you are
using a static IP.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2008, 05:12:39 PM by mig »
Logged

mirceani

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2008, 07:11:47 PM »

DHCP
Logged

mig

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2008, 11:05:09 AM »

Well, if you are not opposed to using a static IP address,
You could try setting the DNS-323 to static IP, and add the
name (and IP) of your DNS-323 to the windows "hosts" file.
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts to see if that helps
with the printer access
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 11:08:54 AM by mig »
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2008, 03:31:47 PM »

If you are not using users or groups on Vista PC's I would recommend using firmware 1.03. Remove your printer from your PC and reconfigure the printer on the PC to see if that resolve the issue. We are currently looking into an issue with firmware 1.04 and the print server function.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

mirceani

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2008, 04:23:52 PM »

I do not want to go back to 1.03
Backup and restore all date is a pain

I realized that under 1.03 there was a hidden directory called \.lpd
It is not there anymore, under 1.04

When I want to manually create it, I do not have acces.

Maybe if I can create this directory somehow, the problem will be solved ?

Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2008, 11:41:28 AM »

It appears that the .lpd directory is not required with fw 1.04 - I reconfigured my DNS-323 with a pair of 250GB Seagates in a RAID1 array and recreated the print server as a local port named \\<dns-323-ip-address.\lp and it works without the .lpd directory
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

mirceani

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Print Server NOT working
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2008, 03:54:04 PM »

I "solved" my problem going back to 1.03
I did not have to reformat the drives (they were formated under 1.04) and they were recognized under 1.03
However the \.lpd is now gone, and the print server is working just fine.

Weird...

I'll be waiting for 1.05, since Dlink is incapable of providing solutions and proper customer support
Logged