• October 21, 2020, 01:24:04 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Adding old disk to new DNS-343  (Read 3363 times)

SilkyShark

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Adding old disk to new DNS-343
« on: April 23, 2010, 11:55:36 PM »

I had a DNS-343, added 2 standalone disks, upgraded to 1.03 firmware, had issues with crashes, tried to downgrade to 1.02, got a brick, got a new DNS-343 with 1.02 from D-link (thanks!!!) and now I try to insert the old disks but can not get it to accept them without reformatting.
Is there anyway to do this? I.e. add a disk that was used before without reformatting it??
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Adding old disk to new DNS-343
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 09:26:16 AM »

I assume the two HDDs on the old DNS-343 were formatted as standard volumes.  If you place one of the old disks in the top slot of the DNS can you see your data?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

SilkyShark

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Adding old disk to new DNS-343
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2010, 04:27:36 PM »

No, tried only one disk, in all slots, all I get is a chance to reformat it.
Logged

SilkyShark

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Adding old disk to new DNS-343
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2010, 04:28:06 PM »

and yes there where formatted as standard disks.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Adding old disk to new DNS-343
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2010, 06:10:35 AM »

Adding the disk to slot 1 should have worked.  It's possible that the HDD is corrupted somehow, but that seems a bit unlikely for both HDDs.  The only suggestion I have left is utilizing a third party solution to mount an ext2 or ext3 formatted HDD on your PC to extract the data.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2010, 06:25:54 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

SilkyShark

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Adding old disk to new DNS-343
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2010, 06:50:02 AM »

OK, have only tried one disk, will try the other also, lets hope for more luck. Thanks!
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Adding old disk to new DNS-343
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2010, 07:25:08 AM »

Good luck.  Post your response after you test the other HDD.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC