• February 25, 2021, 08:44:46 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"  (Read 6463 times)

drleonunes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« on: April 23, 2010, 03:54:27 AM »

I just purchased a DSM-520 from a colleague. But I sense a serious problem!
When I turn on the device for the first time, the screen turns green. I canīt use the remote control, etc.. When I turn off and turn on my device again, nothing appears, remains completely dead. After five minutes, I can reactivate the system that works for more than 10 minutes and goes back to green screen.
What can I do to solve this problem?
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 02:13:46 PM »

What firmware is on the unit? Have you reset the unit to factory defaults since receiving it?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

drleonunes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 02:25:04 PM »

Hi,

The firmware is the last one: 1.08 revision A2.
So, how can I reset the unit to factory defaults?
Do I need to install the firmware 1.01?
Thanks,

Leandro
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 02:48:15 PM »

There is a reset button located on the back. Press and hold for about 5 seconds and it will be reset to factory default settings. You will need something like a paper clip to press in the button.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

drleonunes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2010, 02:53:37 PM »

Hi,
Please, can you upload a imagem (jpg, pdf, gif) of this button?
Because I canīt find this on DSM-510.
Thanks,
Leandro.
Logged

drleonunes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2010, 10:26:52 AM »

Hi,

I already reset the unit to factory defaults by software.
I found the option at configuration of DSM-510.
However the problem still occurs. I think that is a problem in firmware, because sometimes it connects, sometimes not.
How can I return to the previous versions of firmware, since the system software not allows me to downgrade firmware?
Iīm waiting answer.
Thanks,

Leandro.

Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2010, 08:37:39 AM »

The RevA2 does not have a physical reset button now that you mentioned that, I think it was added in A3. You stated that "sometimes it connected, sometimes not" You are now unable to connect to your local network as well? 
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

drleonunes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2010, 10:04:30 AM »

No, sometimes when it turns on I can connect wireless.
But, often as I connect the power cord, a green screen appears. At this moment, I can not operate the equipment or the remote control. When restarting the unit shortly thereafter, it does not work, even connects. I have to wait five minutes or more before turning it on again.
What could be happening?

Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2010, 09:26:36 AM »

Do you have the same issue if you use the device wired to your network? It looks to me that the device may beginning to fail.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

drleonunes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DSM-510 - Freeze and "Green Screen"
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2010, 09:32:47 AM »

Now Iīm not using wired or wireless, only USB.
Often this problem is happening when I turn on my equipment, be connected by wireless or wired or USB, etc..
It has some moments in which the equipment works normally, and suddenly appears a green screen.
Logged