• November 15, 2019, 12:36:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7

Author Topic: DNS-323 - 1.08 Ongoing Issue List  (Read 97218 times)

phhowe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #60 on: August 10, 2010, 07:44:54 PM »

Unable to create file names beginning with a period.  This affects both FTP and Windows access to the box.  Prevents me from copying my Linux home directories (.profile etc.).
Logged

tahanan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #61 on: August 11, 2010, 12:33:39 AM »

I would like to know if after the upgrade of firmware and factory reset would cause to lose all the data (files and folders) already in the drives? Or the data will be there intact?
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #62 on: August 11, 2010, 12:48:09 AM »

Unable to create file names beginning with a period.  This affects both FTP and Windows access to the box.  Prevents me from copying my Linux home directories (.profile etc.).

This has nothing to do with the DNS-323, it is a Windows "feature", at least in earlier versions. I have managed to create and copy directories and files starting with a period on the DNS-323 and copy them too so not sure why you're unable to.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2010, 12:55:19 AM by jamieburchell »
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #63 on: August 11, 2010, 12:52:33 AM »

I would like to know if after the upgrade of firmware and factory reset would cause to lose all the data (files and folders) already in the drives?

No
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

tahanan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Logged

phhowe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #65 on: August 11, 2010, 08:31:06 PM »

This has nothing to do with the DNS-323, it is a Windows "feature", at least in earlier versions. I have managed to create and copy directories and files starting with a period on the DNS-323 and copy them too so not sure why you're unable to.

Right,  I already have files with leading dots (created on on a previous firmware), but with 1.8 no longer can.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #66 on: August 12, 2010, 05:28:53 AM »

It's probably not a really good idea to use leading periods in file names anyway, since Windows may get confused. :)
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #67 on: August 12, 2010, 05:47:45 AM »

You mention Linux home directories - so are you trying to do this from Linux or Windows?
I'm a little confused as to how you are creating the problem.

I'm on firmware version 1.08 - just as a quick test on Windows7 I've opened up one of the folders on my NAS - right click - new text document. Named it ".test.txt". No problems.

If I try to do that with a directory- Windows says "You must type a filename" - this is a Windows "feature". If I do it through the cmd interface, it works (i.e. mkdir \\nas\volume_1\.jamie).
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #68 on: August 12, 2010, 05:55:20 AM »

Yep, .<foldername> means something to Windows, so it may confuse things. 
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #69 on: August 12, 2010, 06:04:37 AM »

Yep, .<foldername> means something to Windows, so it may confuse things. 

gunrunnerjohn: Are you following me?  :D
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #70 on: August 12, 2010, 06:54:42 AM »

gunrunnerjohn: Are you following me?  :D
Right on your heels! 

Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

tahanan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #71 on: August 12, 2010, 06:25:51 PM »

Just to report that the issues I had after the upgrade of firmware to 1.08, specially the loss of access  to the DNS thru the mapped drives after the restart, got resolved by factory restore.

Data was all there after the factory restore. I just had to re-create the users and connect them to the specific folders.

All back to normal now! Thanks to all.

Logged

tahanan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #72 on: August 12, 2010, 09:32:27 PM »

Well, after checking a bit, here are some problems:

1) Don't run scandisk. It causes access problems also in 1.08, and you have to restore to factory and set up the users and access manually all over again.

2) Quota settings are not working - it's always "unlimited" despite of putting quota limits to the users.

Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS-323 1.08 Ongoing Issue List - Updated April 5th 2010
« Reply #73 on: August 19, 2010, 03:25:28 PM »

1) Don't run scandisk. It causes access problems also in 1.08, and you have to restore to factory and set up the users and access manually all over again.

I don't have problems running Scandisk. Once it's finished you need to restart the DNS-323 because the drives are unmounted before they are checked. Also running funplug services such as SSH need to be stopped otherwise it will fail immediately. Presumably because the drive can't be unmounted.
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

Boogieman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
DNS-323 1.08 Bittorrent web interface hangs on BT client 1.0
« Reply #74 on: September 04, 2010, 02:31:39 AM »

Installed FW 1.08
Installed BT addon 1.0

Normally i can access the web interface ONE time.
Next time i try to access it, I can login and go to the BT page but no torrents are shown.
But I have seen that IE allways seems to try to load a button image (btn-browse.png) when this happens, as can be seen in the bottom bar on the attached picture (status bar of IE).
Can this "button image" bee corrupt or what can be the problem? How can i fix it.

The problem happens both on Win 7 x64 and Win XP 32-bit.



When the problem appears nothing works in WebUI, I can not log out, go to settings...nothing
After I kill the window I can not log in att all to the DNS-323 via WebUI, so I have to hard restart it.

After I restart the DNS-323 by pressing the hardware button for 3seconds, all my torrents restarts from 0%

Does anyone have any ideas?
My 1Tb disk starts to get full, about 40Gb left, but I guess this should not induce the problem, unless it is some kind of unused cache.

Regards
Boogieman
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7