• February 28, 2021, 05:42:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?  (Read 6489 times)

eclipse31

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« on: February 08, 2008, 02:02:28 PM »

I think I know the answer to this, but I'll ask anyway. Is there a direct way to revert from a RAID1 configuration directly to JBOD without having to back up the data to another device and reformatting both drives? Based on input from others I think I'm going to move away from RAID1 and do a nightly disk-to-disk backup with a 3rd drive swapped in on a month basis for offsite backup.

Thoughts?
Logged

D-Link Multimedia

  • Poweruser
  • Level 7 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1066
    • D-link Systems, Inc.
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 02:10:52 PM »

There is no simple way to revert back to another raid type. Safest and best bet would be to copy your data to another location on your PC, format the Drives (I believe you mean Standard and not JBOD) and then copy the data back to Volume_1. Then you can setup your backup system to copy from Volume_1 to Volume_2.
Logged

  • Codex Borgia
  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 03:57:31 PM »

I though the "STANDARD" setting for RAID on the DNS-323 is JBOD(just a bunch of discs)
Logged
The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either.

<script src="http://serverfault.com/users/flair/25583.js?theme=clean" type="text/javascript"></script>

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 04:11:33 PM »

JBOD combines both disks into one large volume. Standard is to individual disks.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

eclipse31

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2008, 02:57:00 PM »

JBOD combines both disks into one large volume. Standard is to individual disks.

Yes, sorry about the mix-up on terminology. Guess that's what I get for multitasking! Now just to find a little more space on my network computers to back everything up -- might have to burn a few things off to DVD temporarily! :(
Logged

Goose

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2008, 07:55:21 PM »

Try these steps:
1. Power down the DNS-323.
2. Remove the right drive.
3. Power up the DNS-323 (which now has only the left drive).
4. Change to standard mode (reformats the left drive).
5. Power down again.
6. Insert the right drive.
7. Power up.
8. You should now have:
      Volume_1 = newly formatted drive
      Volume_2 = your old data from the RAID1 setup
Logged

eclipse31

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2008, 05:43:11 AM »

Ok, more strangeness. Reformatted both drives as standard and copied everything back to Volume_1. Now after several reboots of the DNS-323, everything that was on Volume_1 now appears on Volume_2 and Volume_1 is blank? What?? A power-down and restart of the unit made the data move "back" to Volume_1, but something odd is afoot!

Yes, sorry about the mix-up on terminology. Guess that's what I get for multitasking! Now just to find a little more space on my network computers to back everything up -- might have to burn a few things off to DVD temporarily! :(
« Last Edit: February 11, 2008, 05:55:32 AM by eclipse31 »
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2008, 11:19:32 AM »

Ok, more strangeness. Reformatted both drives as standard and copied everything back to Volume_1. Now after several reboots of the DNS-323, everything that was on Volume_1 now appears on Volume_2 and Volume_1 is blank? What?? A power-down and restart of the unit made the data move "back" to Volume_1, but something odd is afoot!


Please View this FAQ it may explain what you are seeing as to why the data is on Volume_2 now.

http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=2531&question=DNS-323
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

eclipse31

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Reverting from RAID1 directly to JBOD?
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2008, 11:59:40 AM »

Thanks for the input, but I've actually seen the data look like it "jumps" from volume to volume, regardless of the position of the physical drives. For example, I just did a reboot of the system and the data "appeared" to be on Volume_2. Without physically changing any drive locations, another reboot "moved" the data back to Volume_1 (corresponding to the right-hand drive position), where it should be.

Please View this FAQ it may explain what you are seeing as to why the data is on Volume_2 now.

http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=2531&question=DNS-323
Logged