• April 07, 2020, 02:00:13 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can not enable SNMP on DFL-210  (Read 5578 times)

new2d_link

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Can not enable SNMP on DFL-210
« on: February 11, 2010, 11:48:18 PM »

Hi everyone
I ve installed PRTG traffic grapher ( software that monitors and logs traffic ) on a win 2003 server and I m trying to read and log the traffic through a DFL-210 via SNMP.
I set up remote connection - SNMP before rules - and saved it, but still can't connect to the DFL-210.
How can I test the DFL, to see if SNMP is actually enabled, or how can I make PRTG traffic grapher work
Any hints?
Logged

danilovav

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
  • Alexandr Danilov
Re: Can not enable SNMP on DFL-210
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2010, 06:13:34 AM »

You need add SNMP management and set it's options in PRTG.
But via SNMP possible only full traffic informationm you can't to separate it by users.
Logged
BR, Alexandr Danilov

new2d_link

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can not enable SNMP on DFL-210
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2010, 06:28:20 AM »

Hi Alexander
I have already added SNMP to the DFL. (System-Remote management- SNMP management-) gave it a name, set up community as Public, tried all three possible interfaces lan, wan, wan phys, and three different networks lannet, all nets and wannet, but nothing.
On PRTG I kept the default settings 161 port, public, but nothing.
Any ideas?  If you know of a better program than PRTG that shows users logs and bandwidth consumption I would appreciate it if you told me
Thanks. Jim
Logged

chechito

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
Re: Can not enable SNMP on DFL-210
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2010, 09:06:27 AM »

I use "The dude" http://www.mikrotik.com/thedude.php  to monitor interfaces and variables through SNMP, and as SYSLOG receiver.

Your configuration looks ok try dude to know if its a software problem
Logged

danilovav

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
  • Alexandr Danilov
Re: Can not enable SNMP on DFL-210
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2010, 09:33:34 PM »

I checked on my DFL & PRTG.

On DFL
SNMP management with community public, interface lan and network with one server host

On PRTG
IP-Address of DFL, SNMP Version v2c, Community String public (same with DFL), SNMP Port 161

Try to check by telnet - is it possible to connect DFL via 161 TCP?
Logged
BR, Alexandr Danilov

new2d_link

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can not enable SNMP on DFL-210
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2010, 10:32:39 PM »

I d  like to thank everybody for their response.
However the solution was a lot simpler than you might think
All I had to do was change "PUBLIC" to "public" in the community tab. I had accidentally used capitals.
It works like a charm now.
Thanks again.
Logged