+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link GamerLounge» DGL-4500» What does UPnP means does it affect me play Xbox?
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What does UPnP means does it affect me play Xbox?  (Read 6012 times)
Sulayer
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 34


« on: February 06, 2010, 08:05:44 AM »

OK alot forum around Xbox says UPnP shouldn't be enable. Is that true? In what does UPnP really mean?

UPnP

    UPnP is short for Universal Plug and Play, which is a networking architecture that provides compatibility among networking equipment, software, and peripherals. This router has optional UPnP capability, and can work with other UPnP devices and software.

DO I REALLY NEED THIS THANKS!
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27772


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2010, 03:06:10 PM »

Mine is turned on and working well with XBL. I think its mostly for connecting network compatible devices and PCs together for media sharing and such. I've really never used or researched it. All I know is that it seems to work find with my 360.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Beeder
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 65


« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2010, 07:31:37 PM »

UPnP is the recommended way to use the Xbox 360. The main reason people are telling others to turn it off and use port forwarding is because many routers have buggy firmware that doesn't implement UPnP well.  So far, the 4500 seems to be the best I've come across with regards to UPnP.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27772


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 10:00:42 AM »

I believe UnPNP is enabled by default on the 4500. I could be wrong too.  Roll Eyes
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Beeder
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 65


« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2010, 10:53:03 AM »

FurryNutz: you're correct...at least for 1.15 and 1.22 firmwares it's on by default.
Logged
jjk21107
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2010, 09:07:36 PM »

It is auto enabled on firmware version 1.14 as well
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.