• April 08, 2020, 07:44:22 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Restore DIR-615 D1  (Read 20517 times)

LinkowyMaciej

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Restore DIR-615 D1
« on: February 02, 2010, 11:10:53 PM »

Good day!

Yesterday I made a bad decission - I have installed DD-WRT firmware onto my new D-Link DIR-615. It causes some problems and I’d like to re-flash router with orginal firmware. After turning router on with Emergency Room mode and choosing right (as for me) image file I’m getting “Unable to upload the image, please make sure the uploaded file is the correct image.” information.

Firmware downloaded from: http://tinyurl.com/dir615firmware my hardware is DIR-615 HW D1

How can I fix my router? Which firmware file will be correct if not an original?

Best regards.
Logged

Keiro

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2010, 11:22:17 PM »

Generally, it's recommended to use the latest version of the router's firmware.

Which appears to be v4.11, for your revision of the router.

If that one fails too, try v4.10, as that one seems to be the original.
Logged

LinkowyMaciej

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2010, 11:43:07 PM »

Thank you for reply. Unfortunately both versions won't work.
Logged

Jasu

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2010, 02:29:24 AM »

I'm running DD-WRT with DIR-615 D1 without any problem. I'm not sure which firmware version of DD-WRT you are using (I'm using the one meant for DIR-600) but you could try to re-flash the router using web interface as told in: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DIR-600

Not sure if using web interface instead of ER helps...
Logged

LinkowyMaciej

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2010, 05:37:24 AM »

I'm running DD-WRT with DIR-615 D1 without any problem. I'm not sure which firmware version of DD-WRT you are using (I'm using the one meant for DIR-600) but you could try to re-flash the router using web interface as told in: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DIR-600

Not sure if using web interface instead of ER helps...

I'll try tonight. Could you giva a link to your DD WRT firmware, please? I have iritatting issues with wireless security settings.
Logged

Jasu

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2010, 07:07:17 AM »

You can find the firmware I'm using here:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=61155&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15

Find the first message written by j911, there is a link to firmware I use (you have to be logged in to be able to download firmwares). Some people are able to use official firmwares meant for DIR-615 D2, but I could flash my router with them. You can try those too if nothing else works.
Logged

LinkowyMaciej

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2010, 01:28:48 PM »

I tried and I still can't upload any firmware. Is there any way to fix my router?

Best regards.
Logged

LinkowyMaciej

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2010, 02:39:00 PM »

PROBLEM SOLVED!

This may sounds like a joke, but it isn't... I had to use Internet Explorer browser to correctly upload firmware. Nor Safari nor Opera was able to to this. I had to run my Mac in Windows and flash DIR-615 under Internet Explorer.

Thank you for your help!
Logged

Dimonius

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2011, 07:06:30 AM »

PROBLEM SOLVED!

This may sounds like a joke, but it isn't... I had to use Internet Explorer browser to correctly upload firmware. Nor Safari nor Opera was able to to this. I had to run my Mac in Windows and flash DIR-615 under Internet Explorer.

Thank you for your help!
:o Thanks! Thanks! Thanks!
Logged

charleshaynes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2014, 03:24:43 AM »

If you have access to curl, a simpler solution than booting windows is:

Code: [Select]
url --form filename=@FIRMWARE.bin --form post=Upload\ firmware\ NOW 192.168.0.101
Where "FIRMWARE.bin" is the name of your local firmware binary. The "@" is required.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48555
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2014, 08:18:10 AM »

We presume that since this was 3 years ago, they have probably found the solution or moved on. Thank you for posting information and feed back. Hope it helps any current or future users.

If you have access to curl, a simpler solution than booting windows is:

Code: [Select]
url --form filename=@FIRMWARE.bin --form post=Upload\ firmware\ NOW 192.168.0.101
Where "FIRMWARE.bin" is the name of your local firmware binary. The "@" is required.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

otnememento

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2015, 05:24:54 AM »

I just registered to tell you DLINK didn't fix the issue described here. I tried to upload a new version in emergency mode and it never finished. Thanks to charleshaynes for posting his curl-solution (although there is a "c" missing in the command). This command worked immediately for me:

Code: [Select]
curl --form filename=@DIR600B6_FW217WWb01.bin --form post=Upload\ firmware\ NOW 192.168.0.1
Now wait for 90 seconds and try to load the 192.168.0.1 in your browser afterwards --> success
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48555
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Restore DIR-615 D1
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2015, 12:07:31 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

How was the command sent to the router? command line box?

Also FYI:
Emergency Recovery Mode

I just registered to tell you DLINK didn't fix the issue described here. I tried to upload a new version in emergency mode and it never finished. Thanks to charleshaynes for posting his curl-solution (although there is a "c" missing in the command). This command worked immediately for me:

Code: [Select]
curl --form filename=@DIR600B6_FW217WWb01.bin --form post=Upload\ firmware\ NOW 192.168.0.1
Now wait for 90 seconds and try to load the 192.168.0.1 in your browser afterwards --> success
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!