Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: how do you a send syslog  (Read 10490 times)
morphy
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 63


« on: January 21, 2010, 04:37:04 PM »

How do you send a syslog to a syslog server from the dir-685. I am running syslog watcher software or do I need something different?
« Last Edit: January 22, 2010, 12:46:14 AM by morphy » Logged
johsm67
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2010, 03:20:38 PM »

Ohh my god!

There is no possibility in the router to point out a syslog server! Nooooooooo.........
Normally you type in the IP of the syslog server you want to send log messages to!

God this router is really limited and stupid, and it was really expensive.....

The manual says :

"You may send these logs to a SysLog server on your network."

Open up a service ticket and ask D-Link to add that missing option!
"In the next fw release maybe!"

Or find us a magic command to get some hidden menus on the router..

/Johan
« Last Edit: January 28, 2010, 05:18:11 PM by johsm67 » Logged
johsm67
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2010, 11:21:27 AM »

I have opened a service ticket about this one!

"I can't find anywhere to set IP of the external syslog server..."
"The manual and instructions for the router says you should be able to set an external syslog server!"

 Huh

Will give feedback as soon as i get an answer from D-Link...

/Johan
Logged
Tyrone Biggums
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 40


Don't look no further! Ya Found em!


« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2010, 11:29:24 AM »

Try using kiwi if you can find the free version. I know its floating around somewhere on the net
Logged

I smoke rocks!
morphy
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 63


« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2010, 11:47:19 AM »

I have used wall watcher and Syslog Watcherand there is no data comming from the router. I have also tried Kiwi still no data from the router. As johnsm67 said
"I can't find anywhere to set IP of the external syslog server..."
"The manual and instructions for the router says you should be able to set an external syslog server!"

 
/Johan
« Last Edit: January 29, 2010, 11:35:13 PM by morphy » Logged
johsm67
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2010, 07:55:49 AM »

Still no answer from D-Link support!

Or the first aswer i got was, suggesting to setup a portforwarding rule... Ehhhh......

Then the ticket was closed so i reopened it, adding information that it's the router
that is supposed to send the syslog messages to a pinpointed syslog server in the network!
But there is no menu option available in the menu to specify the IP address of your syslog server.

Still it's supposed to be able to do so according to the manual and available web info about the product,
so it should ned to be escalated or addressed to the engineering team to add it in a future firmware release. Or the manual and available product information has to be changed!

I think the old DGL-4300 had this option if they wonder what we are talking about!

If you have the need for this, my suggestion is that you do open a support ticket for the problem and ask them to correct this problem in the router firmware....
Logged
Lycan
Administrator
Level 15 Member
*
Posts: 5442



« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2010, 08:43:35 AM »

I checked the Manual and couldn't find the reference to syslog that you're referring to......what page is it on?
Also where on the product descriptions do you see a reference to syslog. The unit defenetly does not have syslog.
Logged

morphy
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 63


« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2010, 09:50:30 AM »

See below this is from pdf manual on dlinks web site.

Page 107 This router also has external Syslog Server support so you can send the log files to a computer on your network that is running a Syslog utility.
Logged
Lycan
Administrator
Level 15 Member
*
Posts: 5442



« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2010, 09:58:02 AM »

I just downloaded the manual from dlink.com and page 107 makes no reference to syslogger.
Logged

morphy
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 63


« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2010, 10:22:48 AM »

sorry page102. In acrobat it says 107
Logged
johsm67
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2010, 12:40:23 AM »

Here is a picture of the pages in the Manual for the DIR-685!
The WEB sites refering to this information is all over the WEB if you do some searching...



Logged
Lycan
Administrator
Level 15 Member
*
Posts: 5442



« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2010, 02:53:24 PM »

Take a look at the manual on dlink.com.
I don't see those statements at all. The manual may have been corrected.
Logged

johsm67
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2010, 03:45:50 PM »

Well that is from the manual that is available on the D-Link site in Sweden and UK!

The current manuals in Europe are version 1.20(E) and they still say that there is possible to use an external syslog server on 2 pages in the manual...... So this is what we are expecting as it's an option available on alot of other routers and by stating that when you get the router it should be there.....

It's also in the manuals on the Taiwan and German sites.....

The US Manual version is older 1.10!
But from my understanding the Europe and US versions differs in the firmware, as there is an US only firmware available! (That is not available in Europe!)

Here are the Swedish links! "Manual says version 1.20(E)" (Revision history 1.0/1.10/1.20)

ftp://ftp.dlink.se/Products/dir-products/dir-685/documentation/dir-685_Manual_v1.20(E).pdf

http://www.dlink.se/cs/Satellite?c=Product_C&childpagename=DLinkEurope-SE%2FDLTechProduct&cid=1197378857336&p=1197318910653&packedargs=OuickLinksParentID%3D1197318910653%26locale%3D1195806930208&pagename=DLinkEurope-SE%2FDLWrapper

And here are the UK Link!

ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/dir_products/dir-685/dir-685_Manual_v1.20(E).pdf

http://www.dlink.co.uk/cs/Satellite?c=Product_C&childpagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLTechProduct&cid=1197379508838&p=1197318962147&packedargs=OuickLinksParentID%3D1197318962147%26locale%3D1195806691854&pagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLWrapper

« Last Edit: February 04, 2010, 04:13:25 PM by johsm67 » Logged
Lycan
Administrator
Level 15 Member
*
Posts: 5442



« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2010, 09:02:32 AM »

I can't comment on EU firmware, I don't think the features would be different. More then likely their manuals are just the wrong version.

I'll have someone check in to it.
Logged

johsm67
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2010, 01:47:28 AM »

D-Link Support, has mailed me that this has been reported to product development team!

Then then ticket was closed once again!

So I did reopen the ticket once more, to request a support ticket or bug report number to ensure it's handled and is possible to track!

Still no answer?!

/J
 
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.