• June 15, 2024, 07:55:27 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Cannot uninstall DWA-552 hidden drivers > fixed that, but more problems!  (Read 15845 times)

retread

• Level 2 Member

I bought a DWA-552 last summer and had many problems with dropped connections.  So I bought a DWA-556.  Problem is:  The uninstall routine did not uninstall 3 hidden drivers for the previous card and now causes XP hardware device driver to show 2 adapters installed with the DWA-552 a problem device.  I only have the DWA-556 card installed.

I cannot uninstall the drivers... it reports that the reason is that they "may" be needed for startup.  Hogwash!

I can see the registry file, but don't know what I should do since I am not an IT expert.  I fear making the wrong mod will really screw things up.  DLink tech support is unable to help... they don't know what to do and they will not assist me in manually uninstalling the hidden files or modifying the registry.  I called Atheros, maker of the onboard chip, and they refuse to help because they said DLink has modified the routine and they will not get involved.

Can anyone tell me how to force an uninstall of the DWA-552 Jumpstart Wireless Intermediate Driver, the DWA-552 Packet Scheduler Miniport, and the DWA-552 Wireless Intermediate Driver?  

The location in the registry is HKey_Local_Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\ENUM\Root\WSIMDMP\0001.

It appears the DWA-552 Wireless Intermediate Driver file name is {4D36E972-E325-11CE-BFCI-08002BE10318}\0016.  What if I just delete this file?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 08:17:37 PM by retread »

wklumpen

• Level 1 Member
Re: Cannot uninstall DWA-552 hidden drivers
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 06:58:28 PM »