• October 19, 2019, 05:24:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How to delete old folders from backup?  (Read 2320 times)

zmcmahan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
How to delete old folders from backup?
« on: January 10, 2010, 08:22:54 AM »

Hi all. I have my DNS-323 set to backup some information to a shared folder in Volume 1 using the included scheduling program. My problem is it is not deleting the old folders that I have deleted from the source. Example: If I create a folder called "Test", when the schedule runs, "Test" not shows up in my shared folder. When I delete the folder called "Test" in the source location, it does not delete from the backup. Is there a way to do this that I am missing? I have tried regular and incremental backup. Just trying to avoid a bunch of old folders existing in my backup.

Thanks!
Logged

rcblackwell

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: How to delete old folders from backup?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2010, 02:47:31 PM »

Uhm.... an auto delete feature sorta defeats the purpose of the backup doesn't it? Look at it this way; A file named Extremely_Important_Stuff is created then backed up. Along comes Joe User who accidentally deletes the file. If the backup system automatically deletes the backup file then Extremely_Important_Stuff couldn't be restored.

I don''t use the the scheduling program for backup thus it's difficult to say with certainty if you could manually delete the files and folders that are no longer needed but that's only approach I can see from here.
Logged
Bob Blackwell
Pickering, ON

AFTICARR.COM

dgorini

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to delete old folders from backup?
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 12:55:44 PM »

If you want something like that look at Microsoft SyncToy.  But be carefull like the post above says, or you can end up erasing your backup.
Logged