• November 21, 2019, 12:47:33 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Big Problem with Raid 5  (Read 3844 times)

Nosferatuvn

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Big Problem with Raid 5
« on: January 06, 2010, 12:08:20 PM »

Hallo,

(sorry for my bad english)

I have a  since  today a DNS-343 with 4x 1.5TB

1     WDC     WD15EADS-00S2B0     WD-WCAVY1438369    1500 GB
2     WDC     WD15EADS-00S2B0     WD-WCAVY1590648    1500 GB
3     WDC     WD15EADS-00S2B0     WD-WCAVY1535036    1500 GB
4     WDC     WD15EADS-00S2B0     WD-WCAVY1408537    1500 GB

The system found the HDs but if I take Raid 5 i have onliny 87,5 GB ???? and not 4500 Gb?

Pls can someone help me ? What can i do???

I test Standard (Individual Disks) I have 4 Volumes with 1,5TB but if i use JBOD (Linear - Combines All Disks) I have onliny 1,5 TB ??????????????? and not 6TB

and with Raid 5 i have 87,GB

I work the full day on the problem but i cant find a error ... what can i do?

Many thanks

Nosferatuvn
Logged

hilaireg

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 332
Re: Big Problem with Raid 5
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2010, 12:13:55 PM »

What firmware version are you running?
Logged

Nosferatuvn

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Big Problem with Raid 5
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 09:49:12 PM »

Firmware is 1.02
Logged

ViviOrunitia

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Big Problem with Raid 5
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2010, 07:10:12 AM »

Have to update to 1.03 to get support for drives over 1TB.

But if you're within your return period from where you bought it, I would suggest you get a refund ASAP.

Pretty much everyone on here who runs a RAID-5 setup with 1.5+ TB drives experiences the device locking up randomly while writing to it, at which point you have to unplug it, and it will take 24 hours to re-synch the RAID.

Not saying it's guaranteed, but there's a pretty good chance it will happen. Unfortunately for some of us it started happening after we were past the 30 day return point.

Not holding my breath on getting my money back from DLink.
Logged

hilaireg

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 332
Re: Big Problem with Raid 5
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2010, 01:22:15 PM »

You could try stepping up to firmware 1.02b first to see if that helps; but as ViviOrunitia indicated, there appears to be compatibility issues with HDD's over 1.5TB when using firmware 1.03.

Cheers,
Logged

Nosferatuvn

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Big Problem with Raid 5
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2010, 01:57:43 AM »

it works thanks ;) with 1.03
Logged