• October 23, 2014, 10:52:21 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Where to get install software for DIR-655?  (Read 8818 times)

apowell

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Where to get install software for DIR-655?
« on: January 04, 2010, 10:03:26 PM »

I just got a used DIR-655 but no install software disc.  I've checked all over the support site links but I can't find any link labeled as install software - only shareport and firmware updates.  I can't even determine what the install software is called.  I've gotta believe there is an online link somewhere to the install software - can someone please help me find it?  Thanks!
Logged

lizzi555

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 611
Re: Where to get install software for DIR-655?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 10:37:29 PM »

You don't need install software, just connect a machine via LAN and open http://192.168.0.1 with internet explorer.
Login with admin and empty password.
You can configure everything with the WEB interface.

ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Apps/RouterSetup_dir655_410.exe
Logged

apowell

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Where to get install software for DIR-655?
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2010, 06:30:09 AM »

Sounds like a winner!  I couldn't tell whether that was the case or not.  I did download the manual so i can work through it.  Thanks!
Logged

apowell

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Where to get install software for DIR-655?
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2010, 06:29:17 PM »

When I open a window at http://192.168.0.1 it addresses my Qwest DSL modem, not the D-Link router.

However, I'm downloading the setup software linked above and we'll see if I can get it to work.
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1251
Re: Where to get install software for DIR-655?
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2010, 07:11:07 PM »

Best way to fix that is to disconnect the router from the DSL, then use the 192.168.0.1 address to get to the router configuration.  Once in the router change the routers address to something like 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.10.1.  Then you can hook it back to the DSL modem.  Make sure you set the DHCP server up on the router with the subnet numbers 192.168.1.X or 192.168.10.X.
Logged

ozzed3

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • Ozzed.net Bitpop and chip music
Re: Where to get install software for DIR-655?
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2010, 05:11:16 AM »

But use Firefox or Opera or something. Internet Explorer is a POS browser for n00bs.
Logged


My bitpop and chip music

apowell

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Where to get install software for DIR-655?
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2010, 11:02:08 PM »

Actually, when I use Firefox with that IP I get a flickering address and nothing else - but IE does work.  Don't know why - I normally use Firefox.  However, some equipment is simply more IE-centric than it is friendly to Firefox.  IE isn't a POS or for noobs, it's a browser that's not as good as Firefox for many uses.  However, there are some applications that just don't work properly with Firefox.

At any rate, I now have the router up and functioning, and my laptop connected, but it refuses to recognize the Internet from my DSL modem.  I've run the setup software a half-dozen times and it won't connect to the Internet.  I think I'm going to have to try the manual setup and call my ISP for the DNS settings so that I can enter all that stuff manually.

Pain in the patoot, but I've only been working on it for four or five hours so far......hmmmph.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2010, 08:56:11 AM by apowell »
Logged