• November 27, 2020, 08:37:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Remotely management capability...?  (Read 2940 times)

dluser11

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Remotely management capability...?
« on: April 23, 2010, 10:16:15 AM »

I was wondering if the DNS-323 allows me to remotely manage the utility from another location beside home? I don't see this option. Thanks.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Remotely management capability...?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 10:51:06 AM »

The DNS-323 uses an http web based administration system - it can be managed from anywhere that it can be accessed, it is up to you to make it accessible from where you wish to administer it.  If you configure your network to allow remote http access to the DNS-323, then it can be managed remotely.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

dluser11

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Remotely management capability...?
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 11:38:15 AM »

The DNS-323 uses an http web based administration system - it can be managed from anywhere that it can be accessed, it is up to you to make it accessible from where you wish to administer it.  If you configure your network to allow remote http access to the DNS-323, then it can be managed remotely.

Thanks for replying.  Under what setting in the DNS-323 can you find the option? Setup, Advanced, Tools, etc.. or is it not? For my Router, I use Port: 8080, not sure how to set this server up.
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Remotely management capability...?
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 02:58:18 PM »

You will need to create a virtual server or port forwarding rule to Port 80 at the IP address of the DNS-323 in your router firewall. You will then access the DNS-323 at your WAN IP and the port you set to forward to port 80. So you will access the DNS-323 remotely as you do you router only you will not put port 8080 but the port you forwarded to 80 of the DNS-323. I hope that makes sense.

Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Remotely management capability...?
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2010, 04:35:28 PM »

You might also want to look into NO-IP or DynDNS to resolve dynamic IP location issues. :)
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Remotely management capability...?
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2010, 11:33:35 AM »

Thanks for replying.  Under what setting in the DNS-323 can you find the option? Setup, Advanced, Tools, etc.. or is it not? For my Router, I use Port: 8080, not sure how to set this server up.

Did you notice that my post said ...

If you configure your network to allow remote http access to the DNS-323, then it can be managed remotely.

There's nothing on the DNS-323 to be configured to allow remote access, it neither knows nor cares where it is being accessed from - that is a function of the network it is attached to, specifically the firewall/router that connects it to where ever you wish to access it from.

ECF's response assumes you wish to access it from the internet, and provides details to do so.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.