• November 18, 2019, 10:10:03 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: lost volume after upgrade from 1.02b to 1.03  (Read 3195 times)

bdk701

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
lost volume after upgrade from 1.02b to 1.03
« on: December 11, 2009, 12:46:36 PM »

I had problems with 1.03 when I first got the unit; freezes...have to power off, then rebuild. So I went back to 1.02b since it supports 1.5TB drives and created a Raid 5 array. 4X1.5TB drives.  Works fine with 1.02b.  But I recently tried upgrading the firmware to 1.03 again to give it another try, and then volume_1 goes missing?  I rebooted the unit...still was missing, so put 1.02b on again and then the volume was still there.  Freaked me out at first, thinking I lost all my stuff, but going back to 1.02b brought the volume back.  I'm wondering, when d-link finally fixes the freeze problem with raid5 in 1.03, will I be able to upgrade to that new firmware without losing my volume?

1.03 firmware change log shows that they updated to new toolchain(GCC 3.4.4) and Linux Kernel(v2.6.22.7).
Is this maybe the reason it doesn't show my volume that was created with an earlier firmware?
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: lost volume after upgrade from 1.02b to 1.03
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2009, 01:26:57 PM »

I did not loose my RAID5 volume upgrading the DNS-343 so im not sure what the cause of that would be. I would recommend formatting the drives with the 1.03 firmware loaded and see if you have better stability.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

bdk701

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: lost volume after upgrade from 1.02b to 1.03
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2009, 09:01:40 AM »

where do you suggest I put my 4.5TB of data while I format, using the newer firmware?  If that is the only solution..I guess I'll wait until I buy a Thecus n7700...I don't think I'll buy dlink again.
Logged

hilaireg

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 332
Re: lost volume after upgrade from 1.02b to 1.03
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2009, 02:45:34 PM »

Hi bdk701,

There are numerous threads in the DNS-321/323/343 forums explaining why RAID is not a replacement for a backup so I won't repeat them here.  Suffice to say that you should have a backup at all times.

When I upgraded to firmware 1.03 on one of my DNS-343's, I lost the RAID5 volume that was present.  When using firmware 1.0b, I experienced random freezes and lockups during data transfers of large files 8GB+.

I reset the DNS-343 to factory defaults, removed the partitions off the HDD's, and rebuilt the RAID5 container.  I then copied my data over to the DNS-343 from the other DNS-343 and repeated the procedure on my other DNS-343.  Both units have been stable  since.

Cheers,
Logged

bdk701

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: lost volume after upgrade from 1.02b to 1.03
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2009, 09:35:15 PM »

I'm not too concerned about a backup... the data isn't that important.  It just baffles me that a newer firmware isn't able to read a volume that was created with the previous version.  Pretty lame. ???

Logged

hilaireg

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 332
Re: lost volume after upgrade from 1.02b to 1.03
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2009, 08:38:37 AM »

I'm not certain that it's a case of not being able to read the Volume as much as some kind of anomaly.  I've upgraded a few DNS-343's for others without issues - as luck would have it, turns out mine wasn't one of them.

Cheers,
Logged