• November 18, 2019, 06:46:33 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Unable to delete 3 folders  (Read 16393 times)

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2010, 12:53:29 AM »

minimal fun_plug which will update the owner and permission to unlock the files and directories
download, put in Volume_1, reboot, post your success story
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JH4K76Z8

for those who already have fun_plug or optware should not need this as you can already ssh / telnet into the box to fix the permissions
Logged

bigg3522

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2010, 12:07:30 PM »

just download this, put in the volume_1 share, and then I should be able to delete???

Seriously that simple?!?
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2010, 04:34:56 PM »

yes, that's right and you need to reboot before it takes effect.

and after you are able to delete the folders/files,
delete the fun_plug from Volume_1 share or move it to some other folders
(put it back to Volume_1 and reboot if you can't delete any folders/files again)
just download this, put in the volume_1 share, and then I should be able to delete???

Seriously that simple?!?
Logged

bigg_3522

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2010, 06:15:46 AM »

yeah, this did nothing.  still can't delete the files or change them from read only...
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2010, 04:07:26 PM »

are you using windows or linux?

anyway, the following is the same fun_plug (with debug turned on)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KZ4K4J0N
if you use this, you should see a file optware.log in Volume_1 after rebooting
if you still have problem, please post the contents of optware.log

if you don't see optware.log, then fun_plug was never executed, something else is wrong
yeah, this did nothing.  still can't delete the files or change them from read only...
Logged

bigg_3522

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2010, 07:08:57 PM »

yup I see nothing... so this app isn't executing...
Logged

bigg_3522

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2010, 07:14:39 PM »

do I maybe need another file or something???
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #22 on: March 27, 2010, 04:10:40 AM »

are you using windows, mac or linux?
do I maybe need another file or something???
Logged

bigg_3522

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #23 on: March 27, 2010, 04:23:09 PM »

Mac.
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #24 on: March 27, 2010, 04:47:14 PM »

if i am not wrong mac and linux are similar in some way
you might need to do the following (from the terminal application in mac) before it can work
Code: [Select]
chmod a+x fun_plug
Mac.
Logged

bigg_3522

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #25 on: March 27, 2010, 05:04:47 PM »

ok I got it to work, but the log file doesn't show what's going on with the file that I can't change the read only permissions from.  But there were 3 other folders I can't delete nor access on the drive.  When I tried deleting them it said:

chown: /mnt/HD_a2/Greg's Backup/Can't Delete 3/iChat Icons: No such file or directory
chown: /mnt/HD_a2/Greg's Backup/Can't Delete/Pictures/iChat Icons: No such file or directory


And its the same for every other file in the folder.
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2010, 07:13:12 PM »

this is a more aggressive script and should be able to release any permission problem
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=OE8NSLYH

if it does not solve your problem,
it would then suggest that your file system might be corrupted and you would need to run e2fsck,
i am not sure if the scan disk in the gui is working properly, you can give it a try
ok I got it to work, but the log file doesn't show what's going on with the file that I can't change the read only permissions from.  But there were 3 other folders I can't delete nor access on the drive.  When I tried deleting them it said:

chown: /mnt/HD_a2/Greg's Backup/Can't Delete 3/iChat Icons: No such file or directory
chown: /mnt/HD_a2/Greg's Backup/Can't Delete/Pictures/iChat Icons: No such file or directory


And its the same for every other file in the folder.
Logged

bigg_3522

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2010, 12:03:48 AM »

Right... Yeah, couldn't delete anything...  I've run the scandisk on the box many times, nothing changed...
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2010, 06:26:40 PM »

i would suggest taking out the hard drive and run e2fsck while connected to a PC/mac
i am not sure if mac have e2fsck
Right... Yeah, couldn't delete anything...  I've run the scandisk on the box many times, nothing changed...

i had faced the "unable to delete" in 2 occasions
- permissions got screwed (the script worked)
- filesystem got corrupted (the script didn't help, had to do e2fsck from PC or telnet/ssh into the box)
Logged

bigg_3522

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Unable to delete 3 folders
« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2010, 07:12:58 AM »

I think I gotta telnet in, I have a Raid 5 configuration, 4 1.5TB HDD's...  I think I can change the permissions through command line, I just didn't know you could telnet in...
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3