• November 27, 2020, 01:23:52 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 5GHz unseen  (Read 4610 times)

riley50

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
5GHz unseen
« on: September 30, 2010, 10:39:41 AM »

Hi - I have a DIR855 (v1.12EU) and DAP1522 (v1.1) configured to my understanding of the sticky on '300mps connections' ie WPA2 + AES, 20/40, 802.11n only. However in DIR855 Status, Wireless there is no client shown for 5GHZ. I do not recall having the opportunity to give the DAP1522 a second SSID...
In Statistics Tx packets are being sent but no response. Any ideas what is occurring?  And how to fix it??
Logged

smlunatick

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: 5GHz unseen
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2010, 12:41:37 PM »

Do you have an adapter that is set to the 5GHz radio?
Logged

riley50

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5GHz unseen
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2010, 02:15:12 PM »

Hi - no adapter.
Logged

smlunatick

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: 5GHz unseen
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2010, 03:39:12 PM »

You will need to first have a wireless adapter that will also use the 5Ghz before a client shows up.
Logged

riley50

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5GHz unseen
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2010, 09:08:55 AM »

Hi - I am confused! I have the DAP1522 downstairs set as a bridge with TV and Home Theatre as local LAN connections. I have the DIR855 upstairs connected to my adsl router (LAN to LAN). I thought video stuff would use the 5GHz channel and this would be better than using the 2.4GHz channel which would be used by file transfers etc.. Perhaps I read too much into the ads for this kit??
Logged

smlunatick

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: 5GHz unseen
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2010, 10:43:23 AM »

The "video" stuff as you say would not be automatically told what the radio it is to use.  You need to set up the "link" to connect to either the 2.4Ghxz or the 5 Ghz base wireless network.  It seems that D-Link's Access Point (WAP??) needs to be configured to be told which radio to use.

Note:  the 5 Ghz radio radio is much more limited than the 2.4 Ghz radio.  The only real advantage to the 5 ghz is that it is a cleaner range.
Logged