• October 24, 2014, 12:45:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: HughesNet Satellite Setup  (Read 7070 times)

Torkel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
HughesNet Satellite Setup
« on: October 30, 2009, 11:13:02 PM »

I have HughesNet satellite service for my Internet connection. When I connect the HughesNet receiver directly to a computer, it works perfectly. When I connect through the dir-655, I can't access HTTPS, Gmail, or Windows Update. Since the HughesNet receiver uses 192.168.0.1 for it's IP address, I moved the dir-655 to 192.168.0.254 and can access the setup pages for both boxes. Can anyone tell me what changes I need to make to gain full Internet access through the router?

Thanks
Logged

Torkel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: HughesNet Satellite Setup
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2009, 01:01:45 PM »

For those of you that are not familiar with HughesNet but know alot more about network setup than I do, here's the situation:
The HughesNet transceiver has an IP address of 192.168.0.1 that can not be changed. It hooks into the router via a LAN port. It will not work on the WAN port. It acts as a proxy server for HTTP on port 87 with systemcontrolcenter.com;HughesNetsupport.com;192.168.0.1;192.168.0.254 listed in the exceptions box. That is how HughesNet says to set it up. My internet security settings are set to medium. One computer is running Windows 7 with Internet Explorer 8 and is a wired connection. One computer is running Windows XP Professional with IE7 and is wired. A third is running Windows XP Professional and IE7 and has a wireless connection. All are completely up to date from Windows Update. The symptoms are the same (see first post) with Windows firewall on or off and AV software running or not.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Logged

Sammydad1

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 721
Re: HughesNet Satellite Setup
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2009, 01:19:26 PM »

Hi,

I would use the DIR-655 (LAN) IP set to say 192.168.1.1 so that it is separated from the satellite box/modem.

Make sure only 1 device is using DHCP to assign Ip's...

SD1
Logged
DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA

Torkel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: HughesNet Satellite Setup
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2009, 05:31:33 PM »

Thank You! That worked for the Internet access. But now I get Failure To Connect To Web Server when I try to access the router setup page at 192.168.1.1. I'll try a couple of things and check back.
Logged

Torkel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: HughesNet Satellite Setup
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2009, 01:20:29 AM »

I never figured out how to access the router setup page when I set it to 192.168.1.1 so I did a hard reset on it and moved it to 192.168.0.201. For some reason, it works fine at that address. Full internet access and access to the setup on wireless and wired connections. I have no idea why one arbitrary address works and the other one doesn't. Thanks for your help sd1.

Torkel
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1251
Re: HughesNet Satellite Setup
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2009, 06:45:01 AM »

When you change you router address to 192.168.1.1, you also need to change your DHCP address range to match the router's new IP scheme. That way everything is on the same subnet.  If you are using the default range in the setup just change the 0 to a 1 like you did on the routers address.
Logged