• October 19, 2020, 08:30:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives  (Read 3701 times)

GrOm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives
« on: October 20, 2009, 07:47:34 AM »

Hi Everyone, this is my first post in the forum, I'm kinda nOOb  ;D

Well I bought a 323 NAS and 2 WD Caviar Black (1TB, FALS) to make a mirrored unit.
Yesterday during the initial config I choosen Raid 1 with both units wich left me available the volume size of 998 GB.

When it prompted for formatting the units I clicked OK and everything seemed to work fine (both drives were blinking as supposed).

The thing is, that when it arrived to 94%, the web tool didn't make any further update.
I thought it was taking long but I prefered to wait. After 2 hours waiting it kept at 94%.

So I closed the browser and started again. It told me againg that it would format the drives, I clicked OK.
It reached the 94% for the second time and no further update :(

So... I decided to turn off the 323 and make a cold restart.
When I refreshed in the Easy Serch utility, I found my Volume 1 but with 914GB available (I thought I would had 998...)

Is that OK?
I mapped the volume 1 as a unit, I accesed it, I R/W some files in it and it seemed to work fine...
But I still have doubts about why it stopped at 94% and why do I have only 914 GB free instead of 998.

What do the experts say in regards?

BTW, I have 1.06 FW and currently running a Vaio laptop from Vista-Home to access it.

Many thanks in advance
Cheers!  ;)
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2009, 08:20:46 AM »

Search for "formatting stops at 94%" here, this seems to be a common problem.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

GrOm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2009, 10:27:35 AM »

Search for "formatting stops at 94%" here, this seems to be a common problem.

Yeah I read several threads in regards, but all of them where with previous FW versions (1.04, 1.05)
Has this been solved in any FW version that came after? (obviously not in 1.06...)

Should I upgrade to 1.07?

Anyway, my unit is accesible and it seems that the RAID 1 is working OK but... I still don't understand if it's OK that I have only 914GB available instead of 998 or if this was caused by this "94% issue"
Any ideas?

ThnX
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2009, 10:42:32 AM »

Actually, with 1gig drives, it's not possible to get 998GB of actual storage.  It's all about "disk manufacturer gigabytes". :)

A real gigabyte is 1024 * 1024 * 1024, but disk manufacturers call 1,000,000,000 bytes a gigabyte.

1024 * 1024 * 1024 = 1,073,741,824 bytes.

Your TB drive is 1000,000,000,000 / 1,073,741,824 = 931.32 gigabytes.

Add the RAID overhead and you end up with what you have, you didn't lose anything.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

GrOm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2009, 11:03:57 AM »

Your TB drive is 1000,000,000,000 / 1,073,741,824 = 931.32 gigabytes.

Add the RAID overhead and you end up with what you have, you didn't lose anything.

Sure man, good point ;)
But.. .should I keep on going with the current install or would it be wise to attempt to receive the "Format succesfully" pop up?  ???

Besides, has the 1.07 FW fixed anything else beyod hitachi disks compatibility? is it usefull at all?

Thanx again :)
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2009, 11:17:30 AM »

I truthfully can't say if you should just use it or try to resolve it.  I'd contact D-Link support directly, you may wait awhile to get a response from a D-Link rep here in the forum.  Sometimes it's quick, sometimes it never comes. :)

I'm running the 1.08-beta5 release, and I've had no problems with it so far.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

GrOm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DNS-323 - Freezed @Formatting Drives
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2009, 04:18:20 PM »

Well well... this thing worked out :)
Just for the record and in case somebody has the same issue, I tried to follow MDMS advice (as I read on another topic).

Even if I was able to map the volume, I wanted to witness a "Success" confirmation so:

-Turned off the DNS
-Resetted to factory defaults
-Increased Idle Time
-Went to IE 8 and opened the DNS page
-Skipped the prompted popups to Format the unit
-Went to Tools Menu, then Raid Config
-Chosen to format the Raid again (from this menu)
-Waited and Enjoyed :)

I think it took less than half an hour to carry the whole process till I got the Format successfull message.

I did this on a DNS-323, HW B1, FW 1.06, Running IE8 From Vista Home 32b, connected through a DIR825 router.

Hope it helps anyone that falls in the same bug.

Over and Out!
:)
Logged