• July 04, 2020, 06:16:54 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-323 and Vista  (Read 7350 times)

kqmaverick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
DNS-323 and Vista
« on: December 14, 2007, 02:09:06 PM »

I noticed that my Vista PC wants to install drivers for the DNS-323, i assume it has something to do with the uPnP sever since im currently able to use it as a Network Hard-Drive issue, where can i find the drivers it looks for so Vista stops asking for them.
Logged

seadooxp30

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2007, 06:36:18 PM »

Can someone answer this?
Logged

mattbell

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2007, 07:00:44 PM »

I'm curious to hear the answer to this one as well.
Logged

magius

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2007, 12:53:51 PM »

From what I have seen in my setup, Vista actually detects the DNS-323 as a PC and a storage device (two icons). The one that asks you to install drivers is the storage part. As stupid as it sounds you don't need to use this one for anything (so far). You can connect, store/share files, etc. via the PC device.

Now, if you don't see the two DNS-323 PC icon on your network it may mean that your Vista PC/laptop is not configured to use Netbios. This happened to me with a laptop in my network. Once you enable Netbios you should be able to see the 323 as both a PC and storage. Again, just connect and map the drive via that icon.

I know this doesn't directly answer you question, but it was what I found out after trying to find drivers around the web...
« Last Edit: December 16, 2007, 12:58:09 PM by magius »
Logged

kqmaverick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2007, 09:22:24 AM »

Like i said im able to use it as network storage fine, i was just wondering what the device showing up in my device manager was and if there was any drivers to shut it up.
Logged

bebens

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2007, 11:47:28 AM »

I have the same problem - it is annoying.
Logged

D-Link Multimedia

  • Poweruser
  • Level 7 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1066
    • D-link Systems, Inc.
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2007, 06:48:59 PM »

We are testing this issue on vista currently with the next upcoming firmware. As of right now this issue has not shown up so in the next firmware upgrade you should not experience this kind of problem.
Logged

DRT-1000

  • n00b
  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2007, 07:44:53 PM »

Schweet, mine tried to install drivers the other day. but well its a NAS and doesn't have drivers....stupid vista. I blame MS, not D-Link for this one.
Logged

Macfoo

  • Guest
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2007, 09:57:13 AM »

Good to hear, I can't wait for this update..
Logged

gwelch

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2008, 10:24:45 AM »

As of 5-13-08 there are now drivers for this on Vista machines. There is also a new firmware version 1.05 up there too.
Logged

fliiboi

  • Guest
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2008, 05:06:21 AM »

As of 5-13-08 there are now drivers for this on Vista machines. There is also a new firmware version 1.05 up there too.

I am using a vista machine and FW 1.05...Vista x86 SP1, still asks for a driver.

Where did you find this driver on your vista machine?

Any help would be nice.

Thanks

Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DNS-323 and Vista
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2008, 06:22:24 AM »

http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DNS%2D323
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.