• June 14, 2021, 08:01:54 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Does the DIR-3040 not have Samba2?  (Read 2539 times)

bruh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Does the DIR-3040 not have Samba2?
« on: December 05, 2020, 10:57:44 PM »

Model Name: DIR-3040
Hardware Version: A1
Firmware Version: 1.13

This is a new router, my firmware is up to date. I plugged in my usb and enabled samba but i was greeted by this message on my computer:

You can't connect to the file share because it's not secure. This share requires the obsolete SMB1 protocol, which is unsafe and could expose your system to attack.  Your system requires SMB2 or higher. For more info on resolving this issue, see: https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=852747"

Microsoft deprecated SMBv1 in 2014? Has dlink seriously not updated it to use SMBv2 yet??
Logged

bruh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Does the DIR-3040 not have Samba2?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2020, 11:02:19 PM »

On a side note by FTP does it actually mean sftp? Or does dlink really use ftp which is known to be vulnerable?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49697
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Does the DIR-3040 not have Samba2?
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2020, 11:20:54 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that chat/phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2629
Re: Does the DIR-3040 not have Samba2?
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2020, 12:58:38 PM »

D-Link routers only use SMB 1 unfortunately. Not sure why D-Link has not updated to SMB2 or higher.
Logged