• October 23, 2020, 03:42:22 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: WPA options  (Read 1394 times)

Bildos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: WPA options
« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2020, 03:00:23 AM »



As we can see network 1 and 2 have following features are available:

* WPA
* TKIP

Correct should be:
* Disable WPA
* Disable TKIP

Exactly the same as it is configured for network no. 3 on screenshot.

I reported this security issue to security@dlink.com - The "investigating" this.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49276
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPA options
« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2020, 12:53:49 PM »

What wifi analyzer app are you using?



As we can see network 1 and 2 have following features are available:

* WPA
* TKIP

Correct should be:
* Disable WPA
* Disable TKIP

Exactly the same as it is configured for network no. 3 on screenshot.

I reported this security issue to security@dlink.com - The "investigating" this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Bildos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: WPA options
« Reply #17 on: October 15, 2020, 01:01:31 PM »

Acrylic WiFI Pro
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49276
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPA options
« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2020, 01:58:17 PM »

Well I connected my Android PAD to my 2660 and it reports using WPA2-PSK however WiFi Man doesn't report which actual mode it's using AES or TPIK, however connecting to a different router I have running reports the same thing and it's set to WPA2 and AES only and the app reports the same WPA2-PSK so for my pad, it's using AES.



Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Bildos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: WPA options
« Reply #19 on: October 15, 2020, 02:01:56 PM »

What’s the name of this app ?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2556
Re: WPA options
« Reply #20 on: October 15, 2020, 02:54:05 PM »

D-Link has stated that new gen routers, access points and range extenders will connect using WPA2 (AES) by default when the mixed security (WPA/WPA2) is enabled. The iOS 14 message will be displayed if it detects that the router/ap/extender has mixed security enabled but will still connect using WPA2 AES.

Some devices will get firmware upgrades to allow you to select WPA2 Only (and WPA3 only if the chipset supports it) in the future. No list or time table available.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49276
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPA options
« Reply #21 on: October 15, 2020, 04:43:38 PM »

WifI Man by Ubquity

What’s the name of this app ?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Bildos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: WPA options
« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2020, 01:23:48 AM »

Unfortunately the same app for iOS do not show any details about wifi security protocols used...
Logged

Bildos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: WPA options
« Reply #23 on: October 16, 2020, 01:26:40 AM »

D-Link has stated that new gen routers, access points and range extenders will connect using WPA2 (AES) by default when the mixed security (WPA/WPA2) is enabled. The iOS 14 message will be displayed if it detects that the router/ap/extender has mixed security enabled but will still connect using WPA2 AES.

Some devices will get firmware upgrades to allow you to select WPA2 Only (and WPA3 only if the chipset supports it) in the future. No list or time table available.

To be honest I'm very disappointed with DIR-2660 device. Security settings used in this device seems to be lower compare to DIR-825 device.

I can't find any reasonable explanation for such situation... :(
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]