• October 19, 2020, 10:04:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Flashing third party firmware with broken Reset button on DIR 615 E4  (Read 512 times)

A08

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

I understand from http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.msg163599#msg163599 page that third party firmware (DD-WRT) can be flashed only via Router's Recovery mode page.
This mode not accessible on device with a Broken Reset Button.

Following TFTP flash suggestion,
192.168.0.1 PUT r43718  - Windows xp success
Waited for 5 minutes
As explained by Skello at http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=13599.msg124075#msg124075
192.168.0.1 PUT board_config \temp\ success
(Command 'Erase nvram' not feasible as Router can't connect via telnet, Putty or WinSCP, Access denied port 23 or 22)
Reboot through power off or OEM GUI does not reprogram router as intended.

I am missing something.

All help welcome.
Thank you for reading.

« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 05:20:26 AM by A08 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Flashing third party firmware with broken Reset button on DIR 615 E4
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2020, 08:07:00 AM »

I would refer to the DD-WRT site for information and help on how to load there FW. Make sure it's supported on this model router.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

A08

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Flashing third party firmware with broken Reset button on DIR 615 E4
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2020, 03:00:54 AM »

Thank you for your kind reply.

In this connection I have a specific question.
While using OEM GUI, unable to attach pic, even if properly configured, TELNET under Advanced-Virtual Server tab
whenever, I attempt to use Telnet command from my laptop, with windows Firewall disabled, Microsoft Security Essential disabled, off-line
Both in Windows-xp and Windows 7 ultimate,  I always get the following error message:
Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed

What I am missing, please advise.
Regards


I would refer to the DD-WRT site for information and help on how to load there FW. Make sure it's supported on this model router.
Logged