• September 23, 2020, 04:34:23 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Dir 842 connection issue  (Read 684 times)

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Dir 842 connection issue
« on: July 18, 2020, 12:45:24 PM »

So I want to use this router in DHCP mode while connected to my d-link modem. Made all the connections and the router connected for about 1.5 hrs and then dropped the connection. A little yellow flag showed me this on the lower right of the screen. So i bypassed the router and went direct to the modem. Connection is rock solid. Any idea what is happening to the connection? My service is DSL and the router has revision B hardware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 01:02:29 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2020, 01:51:50 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
H/W B1
F/W 2.02
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
Located in Canada


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
Teksavvy DSL
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
D-link 502B

  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2020, 01:54:42 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
I am trying the router in DHCP mode but earlier I was trying PPPoE mode. It worked briefly then stopped. Right now the modem continues to work, router noy in the circuit.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2020, 04:25:02 PM »

Was PPPoE set on the modem or did you bridge the modem then apply PPPoE settings on the DIR router?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2020, 05:09:27 AM »

Was PPPoE set on the modem or did you bridge the modem then apply PPPoE settings on the DIR router?
It seems my issue is resolved now, not exactly sure why, but i will keep going like this for now.
Logged

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2020, 08:58:18 AM »

Was PPPoE set on the modem or did you bridge the modem then apply PPPoE settings on the DIR router?
It seems my issue is resolved now, not exactly sure why, but i will keep going like this for now.
update my issue came back and I do not have the technical expertise to get it to go. Basically the problem is this

in DHCP mode with only modem in circuit I am connected to the server.
when I try to connect thru the router it will not connect.
How does the addition of a router stop it from working? Sorry its an ongoing problem and I do know it works with the modem in place but after 8AM (or so) it stops working.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2020, 09:30:53 AM »

Was PPPoE set on the modem or did you bridge the modem then apply PPPoE settings on the DIR router?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2020, 10:00:59 AM »

Was PPPoE set on the modem or did you bridge the modem then apply PPPoE settings on the DIR router?
Yes PPPoE is set on the modem and router is in DHCP mode.  The modem is not bridged.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2020, 01:16:21 PM »

So if PPPoE is set on the modem and not bridged, does connecting a wired PC directly to the modem experience any problems as well or is it a good connection?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2020, 03:07:24 AM »

So if PPPoE is set on the modem and not bridged, does connecting a wired PC directly to the modem experience any problems as well or is it a good connection?
With only the modem in circuit (not bridge mode) it connects consistently when I connect to the phone line.

If I add the router into the circuit such that the modem is in bridge mode and router has the login info then it does not connect to the server.

WHat happens when the router is in the circuit? I have no idea???
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2020, 09:13:10 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

horatio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2020, 06:42:04 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Thanks for the help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 842 connection issue
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2020, 08:05:55 AM »

Let us know how it goes. Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!